Meet My Tough Chiks!!! Here is Kim, Joelle and Courtenay

18 Jun

Kim

Name: Kim

Location: Jupiter, Florida

Sport of Choice: running, cycling

Hobbies: gardening, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing – doing all this fun stuff with my 2 favorite guys (one is my husband and the other is my 5 year old son)

2012 Race Plans: Spring Training 10K – done 3/17, Westminster Classic 10K on 5/13, Freedom Sprint Duathlon on 7/4, Fort Lauderdale 13.1 on 11/11, Tough Mudder on 12/1

What makes you a Tough Chik: I keep at it, I don’t give up! Running and I have a love/hate relationship.  It’s so hard for me, in large part due to my asthma.  But I love the “me” time and the feeling of accomplishment afterward. And I’m not fast but I’ve started to do some more speedwork to lay the foundation for a faster fall season.

 

Joelle

Name: Joelle

Location: Rhode Island

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Reading, playing piano, and watching football

2012 Race Plans: Cox Providence Marathon, Blessing of the Fleet 10 Miler, Rock N Roll Providence Half Marathon, Philadelphia Marathon, and some 5ks interspersed throughout.

What makes you a Tough Chik:  I just ran my first marathon in May and now I’m hooked! Running makes me feel strong and invincible. Running my first marathon has shown me that if I want something, truly want something, I know that if I put my mind to it, I can do it. Anything is possible for me in this life. I just have to want it and work for it and it’s within my reach. This attitude is what makes me a Tough Chik.

Blog: http://alwayskissmegoodnightjec.blogspot.com/

 

Courtenay

Name: Courtenay

Location: Minneapolis, MN

Sport(s) of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Yoga, geocaching, blogging, hanging out with my local running buddies, thrift shopping & bargain hunting, quality time with my awesome hubby, shih tzu and tabby cat

2012 Race Plans: Fargo 1/2 Marathon, Run for Blood Quarter Marathon, MDRA Victory 10K, Women Run the Cities 10-Miler, IMT Des Moines Half Marathon

What Makes You a Tough Chik: I was always the girl in high school who walked the mile in gym class and literally avoided doing it at all if I could help it. I spent the first 30 years of my life avoiding anything that made me sweat or feel like crap as far as exercise went. I was inspired by some close friends who had run 5Ks-marathons and decided I didn’t want to go through life having not tried to do at least one race. At age 30 I started training for my first 5K and instantly became hooked. I spent most of 2011 with my body desperately trying to break me down. I was plagued with 8 different running injuries that put me out of 2 half marathon attempts. I spent an entire year getting my injuries under control with my sports chiropractor (who has become a very dear friend). I was bound and determined not to be told “no” and I pushed through all the pain and heartache that injuries can bring. I hired a running coach (who I am SO thankful for), got myself back on the right track and training properly, and will be at the start line of my first half marathon this May running injury-free for the first time in over a year! When it comes to running and training, I will stop at nothing to achieve my goals.

Blog URL: www.autopilotlegs.com

Twitter Handle: @autopilotlegs

Fun Fact: My husband and I just started our journey to adopt our first child!

One Response to “Meet My Tough Chiks!!! Here is Kim, Joelle and Courtenay”

  1. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) June 18, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    I see the TTC buttons everywhere so I’m finally asking. What is Team Tough Chick?

    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

