Get over the HUMP with Melissa, Julie and Lindsay!

13 Jun

Melissa

Name: Melissa

Location: San Diego, CA

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Weight lifting, reading, blogging, eating, coffee -coffee is a hobby, not just a habit, right??

2012 Race Plans: May 19 – ROC Race

June 3 – Rock n Roll San Diego Half Marathon (tentative)

June16 – Philip Rivers 5k

August 19 – America’s Finest City Half Marathon

Sept 8 – 9/11 – Memorial Stair Climb (110 flights of stairs to remember the firefighters)

Oct 14 – Nike Women’s Marathon – my first full!

Nov 6 – Iron Girl 10k

Nov 11 – Silver Strand Half Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started running just last year when I realized I weighed the same as I did nine months pregnant with my son. 15 years prior! A couple months later, I ran a 5k with some friends and was hooked. Unfortunately, my body didn’t agree with my mind. I went through torn cartilage in both hips, jacked up my inguinal ligament (also both sides), and launched into 2012 with two rounds of bronchitis, a fractured rib, sinus infection, and asthma diagnosis. TOUGH comes in when you tell your body to suck it and push through it. I dropped twenty pounds (although I picked half it back up along the way) and ran my first mud run/obstacle course last month and just ran my first half marathon May 6!

Blog: www.themelissachronicles.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I’m one of the small number of Asians that stink at math; if you’re next to me on a treadmill, I’m racing you (unless you’re way faster than me, then I’m just in my zone); I can fall asleep holding my Starbucks; I jump on the opportunity to out lift the guy next to me at the gym; I wanna be big & buff so my son knows I can take him no matter how much bigger he gets than me; if you’ve seen me cry, I love you.

 

Julie

Name: Julie

Location: New Hampshire

Sport of Choice: Running, Triathlon

Hobbies: Reading, shopping, camping, playing with my daughter, spending time with my friends and family

2012 Race Plans: Run For Your Lives- Boston, Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, Redhook/Runners Alley Memorial 5K, Concord YMCA Triathlon, Renegade Playground

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m a tough chik because not only have I lost 30 pounds in 4 months and am training for my first sprint tri, but I’ve done it while taking care of my family, working full time as an RN, and taking classes towards my masters. I owe a lot of my toughness to my amazing support team! They definitely help keep me tough!!

Blog: www.triathamommy.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: will ANYTHING if it’s pickled… carrots, green beans, asparagus, eggs, mushrooms, you pickle it- I’ll eat it!

 

Lindsay

Name: Lindsay

Location: Alabama

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Playing with my Children and Reading

2012 Race Plans: Marine Corps Marathon in October, several half marathons

What make you a Tough Chik: Juggling full time employment, full time mommyhood and marriage. Rawr

2 Responses to “Get over the HUMP with Melissa, Julie and Lindsay!”

  1. tootallfritz June 13, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Love Melissa’s photo! Awesome. The new Tough Chiks are amazing! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No direction… | RunJunky - June 16, 2012

    […] Get over the HUMP with Melissa, Julie and Lindsay! (toughchik.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

