Happy Hump Day with Lisa, Kasey and Louise!

6 Jun

Lisa

Name: Lisa

Location: Monterey, California

Sport of Choice: Mountain Biking

Hobbies: Photography

2012 Race Plans: Completing all of the CCCX-MTB XC Series Races (half way there)

What makes you a Tough Chik: Perseverance.  I started riding bike in May 2011.  I was SLOW!!!  Although everyone around me told me I needed to ride more than once a week to get stronger, I didn’t take the leap until February 2012.  After losing someone I cared for deeply, I decided it was time to  live and that is why I signed up for my first MTB race with no training.  OK, I did finish dead last and YES, they held the next race for 30 minutes since I hadn’t returned yet, BUT finished all 15 miles and ten was the furthest I had ever gone at that point.  I am now training and riding 4-5 days a week.  Mountain biking has become a confirmation of life for me.  It is so amazingly beautiful on top of the hills, here, in Monterey.  I can only wonder why I waited so long to get going.  I have to admit that I am now obsessed with biking!  😎

Fun Fact: I am a total Math geek and will be starting my Masters in Mathematics this fall.

 

Kasey

Name: Kasey

Location: Central Indiana

Sport of Choice: Running (Anything from a 5K to a Tough Mudder!)

Hobbies: Quilting, sewing, reading

2012 Race Plans: Completed a Spartan Sprint and 2 5K’s; 2 half’s scheduled, another 5K, 2 Tough Mudders, and my first full marathon!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I love finding the limits I thought I had, and then blasting through them. I might curse like a sailor, but the 4-letter word “QUIT” is not in my vocabulary.

Blog: http://bombletquilts.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: Bruises from obstacle races are even better bragging rights than medals.

 

Louise

Name: Louise aka “Weez”

Location: Bangor, ME

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Computers, Knitting for friends and family

2012 Race Plans: I plan to run my first 5K race, and many more after that!

What make you a Tough Chik: I have beat obesity and an ankle surgery, and have started running after doing NOTHING for 25 years! I am giving it my all, and am starting the road to fitness all over again. I am enjoying the new me!

Blog: http://www.runnersramblings.com

Fun Fact: I’m an xray technologist. Hubby is too. We met in the xray department at our local medical center.

Leave a comment