Let me blow your mind…

4 Jun

Before I “blow your mind”, I want to give a HUGE shout out to my gal Tonia who killed it at Zooma Annapolis this weekend.  Tough Chik was introduced to a lot of new women on the East Coast and I have a feeling we have a new group of Toughies this morning.

Zooma Annapolis

After my last triathlon, I have slipped a little on the running and swimming and I have been spending more time with my true love…the bike.  So last week, I set out for my first run since the tri knowing that if I want to race a 70.3, I must spend more time running and swimming.  So I put on my cutest Tough Chik running gear (hoping it would give me the strength to run tough and strong) and I grabbed my ipod.  My Garmin is in the hospital, the enter button just stopped working, which is probably the best as I need to just get out there and not worry about pace or heart rate.

As I was walking to the lake, my fav running spot, “Let me blow your mind” by Eve came on.  I am not a huge rap/r&b fan, I probably have 4 songs out of 400 on my ipod that fall in that category as I typically fall in to the angry chick rock/grunge genre.  But I love this song and I started thinking about the phrase, “Let me blow your mind”.

I do not think I am alone when I say, I love showing people that I am not what I seem.  I think that is kind of the Tough Chik way.  We have a very large red Ford F-150 4×4 extended bed ginormous truck that I load up and take to events.  I LOVE driving up to a gas station and watching the faces of the truckers when I jump out.  In Texas, I would get a second glance but here…I am a novelty and I LOVE IT.

Clifford the big red truck
(yes I name *everything*)

On of my biggest joys is showing up for a race or ride looking like this

That is my cute innocent look

And then blasting past boys (men) who are riding much more expensive bikes and all the see is a flash of pink.  I would love to see their faces!

Pink lighting

And I think this one of the many reasons why I want to be a decent mt. biker.  How cool is it to see a Chik with her cute knee socks bomb down the hill and kick up some dirt??

How do you blow minds?

2 Responses to “Let me blow your mind…”

  1. Christine June 5, 2012 at 3:10 am #

    LOVE it! I was thinking the exact same thing last weekend during my race! I was wearing my tough chik shirt and every runner I passed, I knew they read my shirt. I was chasing people down and hardly anybody passed me back 🙂

  2. Laura M June 5, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Oh how this whole post makes me smile! My fav part just might be, “I love showing people that I am not what I seem.” Well said!!
    btw…come join us 6/23 @ Aliso for a fun Trail Angel ride!

Leave a Reply

