Welcome 3 of our new Team Tough Chik Members! Here is Martha, Melanie and Taryn!!!

23 May

Martha

Name: Martha

Location: Rochester, NY

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Reading, knitting, baking

2012 Race Plans: 5/13 5k Mother’s day breast cancer race; 9/16 R’n’R Philadelphia half marathon; 9/23 MVP Rochester half marathon; 9/30 Wineglass half marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: I live in a colder climate and love running in the winter and snow. My favorite runs are in the rain where I get to splash in all the puddles. I also love training for half marathons and seeing how I can push myself through each week of a training plan to get to my goal. I also can’t wait to do three halfs in three weeks this fall. I think that will be pretty “tough” chik worthy. :)

Fun Fact: In high school I could not run 1 mile and now I love the half marathon distance!

Melanie

Name: Melanie

Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia   Canada

Sport of Choice: running/cycling

Hobbies: working out, hiking,camping, gardening and reading

2012 Race Plans: I would love to get my 5k time under 30mins…close, but not there yet. I would also like to complete a duathalon and possibly a tri

What makes you a Tough Chik I am a slow runner, but enjoy it and continue even when I feel like giving up. I think being able to juggle a family, job and still work out makes you a tough chik!!!

Taryn

Name: Taryn

Location: Sartell, MN

Sport of Choice: Running, Weight Lifting (Attempting Swimming!)

Hobbies: Reading, Watching Movies, Spending Time with Family and Friends

2012 Race Plans: Right now, I have two 5Ks scheduled – one in May and an obstacle/mud run 5K in September. We also do a mud run at the beginning of  September that is a 6K. There are several other 5Ks I will be signing up for this summer, but I am waiting to see how the weather will hold out!

What make you a Tough Chik: I am a Tough Chik because no matter what, I never give up. I am willing to push myself to the limit and try something at least once. I am currently running 5Ks with the hope of a half marathon by the end of the year!

Blog: taryn-in-crazyland.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I used to skydive on a regular basis – even though I am terrified of heights! After a car accident, my back was injured and I haven’t been able to jump since (the jerk of the parachute can really do a number on your spine), and I miss it terribly. It is something everyone should try at least once!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

