Meet 2 tree huggers (Lisa and Meredeth) and welcome home Jess!

12 Apr

Lisa

Name: Lisa “Euki”

Location: Wichita, Kansas

Sport of Choice: Running and Snowboarding

Hobbies: Baking, Gardening, Playing Guitar, Helping to save animals and the environment.

2012 Race Plans: some local 5ks, 8ks and 10ks, my first half marathon in April plus 3-4 more throughout the year, some races in PA/NJ area (where my parents live), hopefully some races in NC or NOLA (where my sisters live), maybe a triathlon in August and a The Heartland 50 Miler in October!

What make you a Tough Chik: I love the outdoors and adventures. I’m always ready for a new challenge. The more it scares me the better, I try to take it on and conquer my fears.

Blog: eukitheminimalist.wordpress.com

Fun Fact: I have 3 sisters, all adventurers. Combined we’ve been hikers, mt bikers, cyclists (for transportation purposes), roller girls, snowboarders, surfers, skateboarders, runners, swimmers, backpackers, canoers, rafters… and my youngest sister played basketball at one point. My oldest sister, Christina, is also part of Team Tough Chik.

Meredeth (left) & Tonia

Name: Meredeth

Location: Mechanicsville, VA

Sport of Choice: triathlon

Hobbies: Saving the Earth, Volunteering with Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Locavore cooking

2012 Race Plans: Rumpus in Bumpass International Triathlon, Chasing Chicken Sprint Tri, Powersprint Tri, Brickman Richmond Sprint Tri and a few 5Ks thrown in the mix

What makes you a Tough Chik: First, I learned how to self-motivate.  Second, I learned to “respect the distance.”  It’s a saying my friend, Ginny has taught me.  I used to think that the little 5K’s and 8K’s I was doing didn’t really qualify me as an athlete.  She made me realize that no matter what distance you run, it’s important.  It’s an accomplishment.  It’s what makes you tough.  Third, I learned how to set goals and achieve them.   Fourth, I have surrounded myself with other “Tough Chiks”, including my coach, Tonia.  Many of you know her well through her RacingwithBabes.com blog or as our own TC East Coast Manager.  Having a coach has forced me to challenge my toughness and spend more time reflecting on my personal growth.    Last, the Earth makes me a Tough Chik.  If we didn’t have this beautiful planet to swim in its waters, and bike on it’s roads and run on its grounds, where would any of us be?  I am a Tough “Green” Chik.

Fun Fact: I love the band, Carbon Leaf.

Jess

Name: Jessica

Location: Sacramento, CA (Dubai, UAE ~4months/yr) she just made it home! YAY

Sport of Choice: Triathlon (road and mountain), running, MTB

Hobbies: Horseback riding, hiking, kayaking, swimming, drawing, and well pretty much anything outdoors

2012 Race Plans: Sea Otter Classic XC MTB, Barbs Race 70.3, Big Kahuna 70.3, one or two Xterra’s, and probably several more MTB, and running events.

What make you a Tough Chik: If someone tells me I can’t or shouldn’t do something, it’s like adding fuel to fire, I’ll get it done if it kills me!

Fun Fact: I love a challenge and will do almost anything at least once, just as long as it doesn’t involve heights!  I hyperventilate when I get really mad, I can feel my throat closing off and it get’s really difficult to breath, that’s when I finally talk myself down from whatever has my so mad.

Do you want to join these ladies on Team Tough Chik?  Sign up HERE to receive notification for our Spring registration!

One Response to “Meet 2 tree huggers (Lisa and Meredeth) and welcome home Jess!”

  1. Brave (Sportswear Lover) Heart April 24, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Great Post.

    Keep up the great work girls.

    Girl Power Rules.

Leave a Reply

