Toughie Tuesday! Meet Michelle, Jennifer and Katye

10 Apr

Michelle

Name: Michelle

Location: Big Bear Lake, CA

Sport of Choice: XC mountain biking; Running; Skiing; Snowshoeing

Hobbies: Eating yummy food; Travel adventures with my husband Gavin and my dog Coco.

2012 Race Plans: US Cup West Race series; Sea Otter Classic, Monterey, CA;  XC mountain bike Marathon Nationals, Bend, Oregon. Conquer the Bear race series (www.OpenAirBigBear.com) and perhaps I’ll throw in a half marathon trail or road run!

What make you a Tough Chik: #1.Being a mother to a teenage son.  #2.HAVING STRONG FRIENDS MAKES ME A TOUGH CHIK!  As women, we are often faced with small battles all day long…messages that we are not good enough, not pretty enough, not smart enough.  And unfortunately, some of these messages come from other women 😦  It’s great to see Tough Chiks all over the country supporting female athletes of all levels and spreading the message that you can be as TOUGH as you want to be.  Now let’s race!

Blog: Check out Coco’s adventures at Coco The Aussie on Facebook!

Fun Fact: My dog, COCO, is a mini Australian Shepherd.  She has her very own Facebook page, and I must say she is a talented writer, even without the opposable thumbs.  Also, my husband Gavin is from Australia.  Officially, I am a collector 🙂

Name: Jennifer

Location: Taylorsville, North Carolina

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Reading, Hanging with friends, watching tennis, working on crafts

2012 Race Plans: NC Half Marathon, Cooper River-Charleston SC, Charlotte RaceFest Half Marathon, Diva Half Marathon-Myrttle Beach SC

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have worked really hard at running since I started in July 2010. I got hurt approximately 4 months and really struggled to come back. I’m finally starting to feel good about myself & my running.

Fun Fact: I’m a huge tennis fan. I love watching it on tv. My favorite tennis player is Rafael Nadal.

Katye

Name: Katye

Location: Baltimore, MD

Sport of Choice: Running!  I also love plyometrics and will try almost anything once

Hobbies: I danced and choreographed for 15 years and still love it…just don’t have the time to commit to it right now, I love writing reading and wish I found more time for it!, I’m a life long fundraiser and I feel like I’m always planning some kind of fundraiser or charity event, I love doing anything with my family and friends!  I have a ton of first cousins and always have a good time with them, and I love the occasional cocktail and dance club ; )

2012 Race Plans: Great question, I haven’t quite figured it all out just yet! I’m doing the Goofy Challenge in Disney this January (I did it last year and LOVED it), the Disney Princess Half in February (one of my favorites), I plan on doing the NYC Marathon again this year and am attempting a PR (might have to do Marine Corp in October as my PR race?), I want to run a sub 4 marathon and sub 1:55 half at some point this year, RNR National on St. Patrick’s Day, probably a bunch of local 5K’s, 10K’s, and halfs…guess we will just have to see what else this year brings!

What make you a Tough Chik: I spent too many years letting exercise and food control my life.  I abused my body in so many possible ways.  But then it ended.  I said no more.  I got the help I needed.  And now exercise is all about praising my body for what it can do, not what it looks like or what size it fits in!

Blog: www.longlegsontheloose.com

Fun Fact: I’m 5 foot 10.5 (5’11 on a good, stretched out day).  It took me many many years to except my height (I felt like being tall made me “big” in every possible way and I just wanted to blend in) but now I love it.  Oh and it takes me no less than 6 full minutes to brush my teeth.

Leave a Reply

