Welcome a Proud Mom from the Emerald City and 2 Georgia Peaches! (one is a b-day girl) TEAM TOUGH CHIK!

5 Apr

Christy

Name: Christy

Location: Edmonds, WA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon, running

Hobbies: cooking, hiking, playing with my children

2012 Race Plans: Mercer Island Half Marathon, Seattle Rock N Roll Half Marathon, TriRock Seattle Olympic Triathlon, SeaWheeze Lululemon Half Marathon

What make you a Tough Chik: I set goals to see how far I can push myself, both physically and mentally, and take pride in reaching those goals.  I competed in my first half iron distance triathlon last year and finished 1st in my age group.

Blog: Beingmorethanmommy.blogspot.com

Jennifer

Name: Jennifer

Location: Lawrenceville, GA

Sport of Choice: Running, Triathlon

2012 Race Plans: After a jam-packed 2011, I’m taking it easier in 2012 as I recover from a serious IT Band injury. I hope to do another sprint triathlon and another half-marathon, as well as a few 5Ks and 10Ks!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am an adult-onset athlete who started running in 2008 at the age of 36. My only prior experience with athletics was one season of softball when I was 10, back in the days when the kids who couldn’t play well sat on the bench! LOL I completed my first 5K in 2008, my first 10K in 2009, my first half-marathon in 2010, and my first full marathon in 2011. I also completed my first sprint triathlon in 2011!  In January 2012, despite still being in recovery from a serious IT Band injury suffered during my first marathon, I completed the Goofy Challenge at Walt Disney World by completing a half-marathon on Saturday and a full marathon on Sunday!

Blog: http://www.runningthroughthecastle.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: I picked up my husband in a country-western bar where he was playing guitar in the band! We were married a year later and are still happily married nearly 18 years later! We home school our three children, two of whom are on the autism spectrum.

Debbie

Name: Debbie

Location: Lawrenceville, Georgia

Sport of Choice: Cycling, Half Marathon

Hobbies: Cooking

2012 Race Plans: Publix Half Marathon, AMBBR Century ride, ELEVEN Sprint Triathlon

What make you a Tough Chik: I was never an athlete growing up.  Though competitive, I never liked team sports because I lacked the skills.  Team in Training made me an endurance athlete. This year for my 50th birthday I  will ride  500 miles in events making 200 of those miles century rides.

 

Do you want to join these ladies on Team Tough Chik?  We are re-opening membership on May 1st!  Sign up here to get updates and info on Spring membership to Team Tough Chik!

Leave a Reply

