MEET CATHLEEN, DENISE AND ERIN! These women are TOUGH!

3 Apr

Cathleen

Name: Cathleen

Location: Big Bear Lake, California

Sport of Choice: Triathlon and Mountain Bike Racing

Hobbies: Backcountry skiing, trail running, and rock climbing

2012 Race Plans: Lots of plans, like every month from now until November.

What make you a Tough Chik: While I’m not fast, I will always finish, regardless of the pain.

Blog: cathleencalkins.com

Fun Fact: I followed the Grateful Dead across the country at 22.

Denise's Kids

Name: Denise

Location: West Texas

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Enjoying my kiddos, scrapbooking, cooking

2012 Race Plans: My second half at the end of March is the only definite, but I’m sure there will be some 5ks and 10ks.

What makes you a Tough Chik: Haha, well after reading the posts on Facebook, I’m beginning to wonder what the heck I’m doing with this group of gals.  Ya’ll are some amazing women.  I guess I would consider myself a Tough Chik basically because I didn’t even start running until 2010 at the age of 44.  I was an overweight, out of shape working mom to two preschoolers and knew I had to do something different if I wanted to see my children grow up.  I’m still overweight, but definitely in better shape that I have ever been.

Fun Fact: When I got hooked on running, I made a goal to run a marathon by the time I was 50.  Well, I have 4 more years to train!!  I can’t say it’s easy to get out of bed long before the sun rises (whether to run or cross-train) but  I never regret having done it.!

Erin

Name: Erin

Location: Warsaw, NY

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Running, reading, traveling, my boxer babies

2012 Race Plans: Various distances ranging from 5k to my second marathon!

What make you a Tough Chik: I’m a tough chik because I keep going out there to run on days when motivation is low, the weather is horrible, or life just gets in the way.   You just have to keep plugging away until suddenly you have a run or a race when everything clicks, and you’re on top of the world!

Fun Fact: Two new activities for me this year that relate to running: I am on a  planing committee for a 5k race  to be run in the town where I live.  It’s my first chance at seeing how a race is put together.  I can’t wait to cheer on all my friends and family!  I am also going to be a coach for Girls on the Run through our local YMCA this year.  I can’t wait !!  I also plan to run a 5k with one of my boxer dogs; should be interesting!

Leave a Reply

