3 More Amazing Toughies on Team Tough Chik! Here are Lynne, Jill and Donna!!!

28 Mar

Lynne

Name: Lynne

Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Sport of Choice: Running, Bootcamp

Hobbies: My dogs!

2012 Race Plans: I’m planning on doing a few half marathons and one marathon.  One half is still in the planning stage, but if it goes through, it will be very special to me and my family.  I’m going to walk with my mom for her first half on Labor Day in Iowa.  My mom just turned 70 and I want her to feel what it’s like to be on the other side of the barriers and the joy you get by completing a race.  I hope to cross the finish line with her and my 90+ year old grandma.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’ve sat for a few days trying to come up with “What makes you a Tough Chik?”.  I’ve gone back and forth with how much I’ve done in my life and then I look at others, and I believe my life has been pretty easy.  I mean I’m educated, own my own house, have two jobs, relatively healthy (could lose about 50 pounds-again).  So does that make me a Tough Chik?  I have friends who have fought Cancer, lost children to diseases, lost brothers in accidents.  I, too, have had my share of losses, but nothing like those around me.  It’s a puzzle I haven’t been able to figure out.  Maybe I’m looking to this group to show me how tough I really am?  Because I don’t really feel like one right now.

Blog: thepawsitivethinker.com/

Fun Fact: I was in the U.S. Air Force for 8 years.

Jill

Name: Jill

Location: Fenton, MO (near St. Louis)

Sport of Choice: Running – Endurance

Hobbies: Camping, Sewing, Hiking, Reading

2012 Race Plans: Lots of little 5Ks here and there.  Illinois (Christie Clinic) Half Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have T2 diabetes and came back to running after losing 70 lbs.  I’m a mom to three teens!

Blog: www.hudsuckerproxy.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I love dill pickles!

Donna

Name: Donna

Location: Torrance, CA

Sport of Choice: running, cycling (not competitive!), beach volleyball

Other Hobbies: reading, writing, cooking, photography, knitting

2012 Race Plans: I haven’t trained seriously for nearly 3 years, so the focus will be to get back into 5k race form so I can add to my collection of Top 250 (Masters Division) Carlsbad 5000 medals.

What make you a Tough Chik: I’ve been a bicycle commuter for nearly six years and took it to the hard-core level when I sold my car in January 2011.

Fun Fact: I was once caught in the middle of a SWAT operation during an early morning run. Great way to turn a recovery workout into a tempo run!

Leave a Reply

