Start of the week with these Toughies! Meet Candice, Brandi and Deb, they are TOUGH!

26 Mar

Candice

Name: Candice

Location: Pleasant Grove, UT

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Writing, reading, baking, playing with my two girls

2012 Race Plans: Utah Valley Half Marathon, Timpanogos Half Marathon and hopefully the St. George or New York Marathon.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I run to make me strong, to keep me healthy and to set an example for my girls. Running isn’t easy, but it’s worth it. The same thing is true for so many things in life. I hope to pass this knowledge on to my daughters.

Blog: ihaverun.com

Fun Fact: I hated running until I gave it a chance. Now I can’t imagine life without it.

Brandi

Name: Brandi

Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Sport of Choice: Runner, Aspiring Cyclist, Aspiring Triathlete

Hobbies: Beyond working, parenting and the above sports, there isn’t much additional time for other hobbies, but I do enjoy going out dancing when the opportunity presents itself!

2012 Race Plans: As of right now, I am registered for the Icebreaker Indoor Marathon (1/22/2012), Surf City USA Marathon (2/5/2012), Trailbreaker Marathon (3/31/2012) and the Ice Age Trail 50K (5/12/2012).   Beyond those, I’m still attempting to decide on a century ride, a triathlon (to get my feet wet – literally) and, honestly, probably a few more running events as well!

What makes you a Tough Chik: Until now, I have never really considered myself a TOUGH CHIK.  My goals typically center on proving to myself that I can achieve certain things.  Through those accomplishments, I’ve realized that I CAN dig deep and tap into my mental toughness. As of today, I have completed 5 full marathons and I ran my first 50-miler last October!

Blog: www.mamaonthemove.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: :  I was a member of “The Jennipede,” the 62 tethered runners who ran the 2011 Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon, setting a new [soon to be Guinness-recognized] World Record while also raising over $100,000 for Jenny Crain, a world-class runner from my area who was hit by a car and faces [expensive] continuing ongoing rehabilitation.

Deb

Name: Deb

Location: Lombard, Illinois

Sport of Choice: Running and Bikram Yoga

Other Hobbies: Cooking, Baking, Reading and Hiking

2012 Race Plans: Several local 5ks, 10k (spring) and at least 1 half marathon (Oct).

What make you a Tough Chik: I am constantly challenging myself.  Whether it be for a race or doing 30 days of Bikram yoga in a row. It helps me stay focused and reminds me that I can reach for any goal I want.

Fun Fact: I make some fantastic pies!

Do you want to join these ladies on Team Tough Chik?  We are opening Spring registration in May!  If you would like to be notified when registartion opens, sign up for our mailing list HERE.

Leave a Reply

