Shamrock On!

21 Mar

Over the weekend I ventured to the other side of the country to launch Tough Chik East Coast at the Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach.  Headed up by the Fastinista, Honey Badger and Lt. Awesomesauce herself, Tonia, the East Coast division is headed to super-stardom.

My trip started on Thursday morning and after wind sprints through SFO and O’Hare (just to stand there and look like a sweaty fool) and over 12 hrs of travel, I landed in Richmond, VA with all of my luggage.  Mad props to United bag handlers, you guys rock!  Tonia picked me up and was nice enough to let me stay at her place.

Friday morning we headed to Virgina Beach, fueled by coffee and a truck load of product, we were on our way.  I don’t think there was a moment of silence for the 2 hour drive.  You follow someone’s blog, chat on-line and on the phone, but are you really friends?  Someone once mentioned that it is like on-line dating, I wouldn’t know because that didn’t exist when I was dating!  But it is, you think you know someone, but do you really?  Luckily, T and I hit it off immediately and have a lot in common.  The down-side, my new friend lives on the other side of the country…BOO!  I digress, we set up the Tough Chik booth and I met an old enemy…HUMIDITY.  Growing up in Houston, I am no stranger to humidity but living in So Cal for the past 8 years, I haven’t thought about it in years.  I was sweating like a pig (do pigs sweat?) and the hairy frizzies were in full effect.  After standing around for an hour, fully set up, the expo started!

We meet several Team Tough Chik members, which was so fun!  I got to meet Courtney, Erica, Lei, Valerie and Kristi.  Here is Courtney and myself…

Shannon and Courtney

It was a really good day, but by 9PM we were ready to shut her down and get some real food.  Luckily our hotel was literally right next door to the convention center and had a Max and Erma’s inside.  T and I checked in and scarfed down our first of many Doubletree warm cookies.  The food at Max and Erma’s was good (my first time) and our server looked just like Toby from the office.  So that was fun.  Then it was off to bed so we can do it all again tomorrow.

Saturday morning came quickly, my internal clock is still off and I had a hard time falling asleep.  The expo was about as busy on Saturday as it was on Friday, which is rare.  Typically Saturday is much busier, but maybe with the influx of out-of-towners, a lot of folks took Friday off.  The day was great, we meet a lot of cool ladies (and guys) and was all around great day.  The booth was a condensed version of my normal set up (since it was all shipped) so pack up was a breeze.

Saturday night a bunch of Tonia’s running friends were meeting for dinner, so we joined them for some yummy pasta and pizza.  I was carb-loading for the flight home, ha ha ha.  Her friends were very nice and inviting, some very cool women and boy are they fast!  Here we are at dinner.

Tonia and Shannon

After dinner I was introduced to Sweet Frog frozen yogurt.  With a wall of yogurt flavors, a topping bar and all kinds of sauces and fudge, it was in hog heaven (lots of pig references in this post, hmmm).  We made our way back to the hotel and sat on our beds chatting.  All of the sudden it was 11PM and we had to be up at 6:30 to cheer on our gals!

It was so fun to be on the other side at a race.  Although I felt very lazy!  It was amazing to see how fast some of these people move.  I am not a fast runner, so I was blown away by all of the sub 2 hr half marathoners.  Here is one of those fast ladies, sporting her Tough Chik running tank!

Courtney
1:51 PR!!!

After the race, Tonia and I grabbed some brunch and she dropped me off at the Norfolk airport.  At 11PM (PST) I made it home, which is 2AM (EST).  I was exhausted and I am just now getting back to a normal sleep schedule.  Amazing how 3 hours can through you for a loop.

I had a great trip and loved meeting and hanging with Tonia.  I learned a lot, like don’t order a veggie burger at the Norfolk airport and if you ask for tea, it will be sweetened for you!  Thanks to all the East Coast ladies who stopped by and said hi, it was so great to meet you.

2 Responses to “Shamrock On!”

  1. mol March 21, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Sounds like a great trip!!!

  2. Meagan Parker March 21, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Yep Courtney is one tough chick!!! Woo Hoo! Go Courtney and your sub 2 hour half!!!

Leave a Reply

