sleep over swim

13 Mar

I am so disappointed with myself.  Last night I went to bed promising myself that I would wake up early and swim before my work day.  I sit here at 9:30 without the smell of chlorine in my hair, goggle marks around my eyes and sore shoulders.  I am so disappointed that 6:30 Shannon choose sleep over swim.  The thing is, I love to sleep.  And once I am in bed, I find it very hard to wake up to work out.  The only way I will get out of bed is if I am meeting someone or riding.  I will choose cycling over sleep.

I am also disappointed at how upset I am at myself.  I am really beating myself up for taking Monday off (which is my normal rest day) and skipping my first of 2 workouts today.  I know that this weekend is shot for training.  I will be on an airplane for 12+ hours on Thursday and working Friday-Sunday in VA (YAY!)  That is why Monday and Tuesday mornings workouts were crucial.  I feel lazy and even as I type that I KNOW how crazy that sounds.

I know I am being too hard on myself, but it is something that I have always done.  I can remember my Mom telling me in elementary school that I was being too hard on myself.  I can’t switch it off.  I can recognize it, but I can’t stop it.  I think it has made me an athlete (I use this term loosely), a business owner and competitor in life…a toughie.  But it also creates a lot of unnecessary stress.  In the grand scheme of things is 2 training sessions and a few extra days off really make of break me?  The extra rest might actually help me, right? (please say yes!!!)

4 Responses to “sleep over swim”

  1. Nicole March 13, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    I am glad to hear I am not the only one who feels this way! I am heading to NOLA for a weekend of partying and eating…and it looks as if Today is going to be a “no” workout day…just as yesterday was! Boooo! The routine and commitment is what make us want to be better! But a couple days can’t hurt us! Right ?!??!!!

    • toughchik March 13, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      RIGHT! As my husbands say, “you are going to be okay…” So if I am okay, you are okay. We are OKAY!

  2. Michelle March 13, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    Ah yes, that damn nagging voice. I do the same thing and indeed did it this morning as you did. I haven’t been to my 6am spinning class in well over three weeks now. I just can’t seem to make myself get up and get there. I’m trying to find a balance between “my body needs sleep” and “my body needs to be pushed”, but it sure is hard. And it does make the saying ring true “No one ever regrets a workout they completed.” Finding that balance is hard – I am right there with you!

  3. Christine March 13, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    You will be fine! Sometimes you just need a little break in order to come back even stronger!

Leave a Reply

