Spartans, Ironmans, Ultra-runners….these women are TOUGH! Meet Erika, Lisa and Niki!

8 Mar

Erika

Name: Erika

Location: Currently – Detroit, MI area; moving to Seattle, WA in coming weeks

Sport of Choice: Triathlon, running

Hobbies: Crochet, reading, all things toddler with my 2 year old

2012 Race Plans: Ironman Arizona (November) Ironman Lake Stevens 70.3 (July), 2 half marathons (June/October), variety of other triathlons and races

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am signed up for my first Ironman and taking my triathlon racing to the next level. All while working, being a wife, moving cross-country and most importantly being a mom to my 2 year old Julia.

Blog: thisspartanwill.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I was one of the first bicentennial babies born in 1976 in Washington DC!  I am a huge Michigan State Spartan fan, love all things sports and we own a lop-earred rabbit named Maverick.

Lisa

Name: Lisa

Location: Anaheim Hills, CA

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Mountain Biking

2012 Race Plans: Several half marathons and San Juan 50k on April 14.  I also hope to run the St. George Marathon again in October.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have only been running for four years. I started *after* I turned forty. I continue to push myself and show that age doesn’t matter.

Blog: http://lisasepiphany.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: I once ran a mud run in a formal wedding dress with a wedding party.  The dress had a full train and my friends, dressed as bridesmaids, and my brother, dressed as a groomsman, helped me over walls and obstacles and through the mud. It was one of the most fun races I have ever run.

Niki

Name: Niki

Location: Johnson City, TN

Sport of Choice: Distance Running

Other Hobbies: Traveling, Reading

2012 Race Plans: Cooper River Bridge Run, California International Marathon, My 1st Triathlon (haven’t picked one out yet, but I’m going to do it!), my 1st mud run, and I am sure to do a few 1/2s!  They are my favorite!

What make you a Tough Chik: I moved to a new city in a new state all on my own because I wanted to experience something different for once in my life.  While there I began, for the first time ever, serious training because I was going to run a half-marathon with some fast girls from home that I didn’t even know that well and I didn’t want to embarrass myself.  I trained for my 2nd half-marathon all on my own.  I followed a plan, trusted my training, and made my goal.  I am continually looking for the “next ” thing so I moved back home, started training, and ran my first marathon in October.  I am amazed at the love I have found for the sport and the wonderful friends I have made.  I even started my blog because I was so overwhelmed with emotion when training.   None of this would have been possible without the encouragement of my training buddies, who are now some of my best friends.

Blog: http://running-niki.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: I’m only 5’0”

Leave a Reply

