Training ADD

7 Mar

Jack of all trades, master of nothing.  That is kind of how I feel about training these day.  I struggle keeping focus.  I want to be great at everything and well, sometimes that is just not possible.  I have a pretty big race coming up and I should be 100% focused on road cycling.  I have told myself that I need to spend as much time in the saddle as possible.

And then it happens…I see a post that someone ran 18 (or something absurd) miles and I feel like I should be running more.  I can’t run 18 miles, i need to be running more.  Or I look at my triathlon results and see how incredibly slow I am in the water.  I mean if I want to be a triathlete, the last thing I need to do is cycling.

Don’t forget weight training, I already ended up in PT for neglecting my weight training and then of course there is yoga.  I really should be stretching more and doing more yoga, plus it will help with my stress level.  My stress level is high because of my training ADD (not to mention a plethora of other issues).

Of course I can forget the Crossfit band wagon that I must jump on.  It will change my life and I DO want to be strong.  Or boot camp, my beloved Trainer Ali teaches an amazing boot camp…I really need to get back to that.

And I can forget Mt. Biking!  I just got back on the Mt. Bike, I can’t abandon it now.  But the Mt. biking WILL help me with the road cycling race in April, which is what I really should be training for…

How do you stay focused OR do you?  Am I alone in this??

7 Responses to “Training ADD”

  1. jnkmiles.org March 7, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    There are never enough hours in the day. I usually look at the year and then use some form of periodization. I try to always do SOME strength training, but many times it’s only an hr/wk esp during tri-season. Later, in the late summer and fall, I focus more on running and will add in yoga, CrossFit, BootCamp, and all those other things I feel like I miss from Feb-July. But I’m not swimming and cycling as much so there is more time. Then there are those weeks when I’m doing good to just get an hour or so in each day….and then fall into bed feeling guilty….wondering how I let the hours escape me…..
    In comparison to the rest of America (as a whole), I bet we’re doing ok 🙂

  2. Courtney March 7, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    OMG! I feel this way all the time. Used to be only with the different machines at the gym “Oh I should do legs… whats that one do?… oh she looks strong, i’ll try that one” but now its weights vs running… can’t choose!!

  3. Chrystal Logan March 7, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    I feel this way EVERYDAY!! It is a constant battle and I want everything to change now, I wanna be fitter, faster, better, now! Hahaha. I have to keep reminding myself that baby steps are the key. 🙂 My current strategy is to enter as many races as possible. I have a race almost every weekend between now and the end of May. That way I am forced to be prepared. So far it is working, but not for my bank account. 😉

  4. Haley @ Climb Run Lift Mom March 7, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Lol. I feel the same way. I need to focus on running for my races. I need to focus on strength training. But I can’t strength train before I climb or my muscles are useless, lol. I need to make time for yoga for physical and emotional balance. And I have a bike just sitting in my garage begging to be used but with everything else… It’s always something. Maybe just make a schedule and use your cross training days (do triathletes even have those?) for your other stuff? And don’t let what other people are doing take you away from what your doing. You’re a smart cookie. Your not training for a marathon right now so you don’t need to be running 18 miles at a crack. Everything will fall into place 🙂

  5. Michelle Bouchard March 8, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Yes, I totally feel this way. For me, it comes from reading everyone’s blogs. I love to hear what everyone else is doing, however, it makes me feel like I’m not doing enough. When in reality, what I am doing is actually quite a bit for the schedule I have to keep. And since triathlon is not my profession, I do need to not neglect the part of my life that keeps us in a house, and fed. Oh, then there’s the mommy thing I’ve got going too…. ahh. see what I mean? lol So much stuff, so little time.

    Do what makes you happy and what is good for your life. 🙂

  6. Stephanie Anne March 8, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    I feel like theres a million things to do & not enough time to do it. Its tough being a triathlete & fitting in all those different sports!

  7. Jessica Balaam March 15, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Haha, that sounds exactly like me!!! I can relate to everything you said!! Love knowing there are others out there with training ADD!!!

Leave a Reply

