Need inspiration? Meet Jamie, Kelly and Susan!

6 Mar

Jamie

Name: Jamie

Location: Johnson City

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Coaching Girls on the Run, hanging out and laughing with friends and family, and working with my local track club.

2012 Race Plans: 2012 Boston Marathon, local 5ks, 10ks, and half marathons

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started running three and a half years ago when my brother, who often lightheartedly teases me, complemented on my weight gain.  I had been gaining a lot of weight, and was unhappy with by body and lack of energy, so I started running.  Since then, I haven’t stopped.  I ran my first 8K in 2008 and was instantly hooked on racing.  Since that time, I have run over 100 races and three marathons.  I started out running very slow, but with  a lot of work, I have been able to drop my race times quite a bit.  Through running, I have made a lot of lifelong friends. I met my best friend, Jenna (a tough chick teammate)  at a local group run shortly after  I started running.  In 2011, we qualified for the Boston marathon and plan on running it this year!  Running has changed my life in so many ways.  It had made me one tough chick!  My plans are to get even tougher this year!

Fun Fact: I am a kindergarten school teacher.  I have been known to “costume run”.

Kelly

Name: Kelly

Location: Ellicott City, Maryland

Sport of Choice: running, triathlon, Bikram yoga

Hobbies: reading, cooking, wine tasting

2012 Race Plans: Baltimore 10-miler, Seattle Rock and Roll Half Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m a tough chick because as scared as I may be, I will try just about anything if I think it will make me a stronger and healthier person.

Fun Fact: I have the sweetest, cutest, and smartest yellow lab!

Susan

Name: Susan

Location: Atlanta, GA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

Other Hobbies: Who has time?!?

2012 Race Plans: Georgia Half Marathon, Rev 3 Knoxville Half Ironman, ELEVEN Lake Oconee, leading up to  Ironman Canada!!!

What make you a Tough Chik: I am a pancreatic neuroendocrine (PNET or Islet Cell) cancer survivor. I had a pancreatectomy in 2008 and have been competing since then as the equivalent of a Type 1 diabetic. I compete because I (still) can.

Blog: http://trisusank.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: The first triathlon I ever saw was Ironman Canada in 2007. I thought the competitors were crazy but decided to try a sprint triathlon the next year. 5 years later I will be making my own run at Ironman Canada on August 26th.

Leave a Reply

