Let’s kick off the weekend with these TOUGHIES! Introducing: Janene, Kirsten and Jennifer

24 Feb

Janene

Name: Janene

Location: Columbus, OH

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Adventure, Food, Backpacking, Climbing, Tomfoolery and/or Shenanigans.

2012 Race Plans: Athens (Ohio) Marathon, Flying Pig Marathon, Air Force Marathon, and some half marathons, 10ks, and 5ks thrown in for good measure!

What makes you a Tough Chik: When something intimidates me, I see it as a challenge and I always give a hearty YES! to a new adventure. I love finding and pushing my limits, and even though I’m more at home in a tent under the stars than a 5 star hotel, I still love a good old fashioned girls night – as long as there are PJs, pizza, and romantic comedies involved.

Blog: http://onerunatatime.com

Fun Fact: I teach outdoor skills & leadership classes for a living. I have ice climbed a corn silo. Yes, you read that correctly.

Kristen

Name: Kirsten

Location: Silver Spring, MD

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: rock climbing, cooking, reading, and hanging with my hubby, baby girl and 2 pups

2012 Race Plans: Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon DC in March, Cherry Blossom 10-miler in April, and a possible full marathon this fall

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m determined and motivated and always finish what I set out to accomplish.

Blog: www.justanothermile.wordpress.com

Fun Fact: I can make a 3-leaf clover with my tongue, and I married a triplet!

Jennifer

Name: Jennifer

Location: Pass Christian, Mississippi

Sport of Choice: A little bit of everything…. grew up a swimmer, became a runner in college, have developed a passion for cycling and am now an avid triathlete because of it all.

Other Hobbies: We live on the Gulf Coast, so if I’m not training chances are I’m out on the boat or at a beach.

2012 Race Plans: Louisiana Marathon…the half version 1/15 and my big event is Memorial Herman 70.3 on April 1. The rest is being tweaked as I try to determine which local triathlons to participate in this year and finally which fall 70.3 to tackle…Right now I’m leaning towards Texas 70.3 in October.

What make you a Tough Chik: The ability to persevere in good times and bad. Never allowing the “bad” to disrupt progress being made, nor using the “good” as an excuse to slack, but always utilizing both as a learning tools to aid in future successes.

Blog: junkmiles.org

Fun Fact: I only have 1 kidney…. I lost mine as a 13 yr old when I was playing chase with friends. I tripped and landed on a pipe, 2 weeks later my right one was removed. My husband likes to tell people I was attacked by sharks when they see my scar…. I guess it sounds more exciting!!

Leave a Reply

