Tracy, Christine and Jana – 3 Tough Chiks that you want to know!

1 Feb

Tracy

Name: Tracy

Location: Bar Harbor, Maine

Sport of Choice: hiking, running, canicross, swimming, cycling, snowshoeing, x-cross country skiing

Hobbies: dogs, participating in dog sports (agility, rally o, canicross, skijoring), food!

2012 Race Plans: I am planning to participate in my first sprint tri this year. Leading up to that I have a couple of 5k races, a 5k Canicross Trail race, a swim race and a cycling ride.

What make you a Tough Chik: think what makes me a tough chik at this stage of my life is a huge desire to be healthy and to keep knowing how great it feels to move my body. (I am 47 years young)   I still feel that I am new to all of this mostly because for the majority of my life I was rather sedentary and non-athletic. Six years ago we brought home a fiendish Labrador puppy we named Simon. He was wild and needed lots of mental and physical stimulation. I started competing with him in agility and quickly learned tricks that would save me from running all over the course trying to keep up with him- which was impossible anyway.  We also started hiking… a lot. Simon and I have hiked almost every trail in nearby Acadia National Park as well as trails in other parts of Maine and the White Mountains of NH. As my passion for hiking grew I decided I wanted to do something that would boost my cardio and so Simon and I began running. I still feel like a newbie runner and my 5K time is slow, but running just feels so good that I have kept at it. Last summer I got back on my bicycle for the first time in years and was so surprised that the 10 mile ride felt pretty easy and super fun! Then I learned of the sprint tri and had a brief thought that maybe I could do one- I was running, cycling again and always loved swimming. My running coach- Julia Jones- encouraged me and would have had me do one last year! But- I was shy about taking that leap. At the end of the year I ended up with and injury and then had an infection that messed up my physical activity. I feel like I am just now getting back on track…. and one of my reasons for joining the tough chik team was to keep me motivated and on track. I feel a bit out of my league with all the amazing women on the tough chik team… but it does feel great to be part of a team- even if I am a newly hatched tough chiklet!

Blog: http://outaboutwithtracysimon.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: Olives are my favorite food…. if I had to run for olives I think my 5K time would improve!

Christine

Name: Christine – DreamBIGrunner

Location: Bealeton, VA

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Traveling, Dancing, Reading

2012 race Plans: I’m planning on running the local race series as well as several half marathons

What makes you a Tough Chik: Pain is temporary, Pride is forever!

Blog: http://christine-myfirstmarathon.blogspot.com/

Jana

Name: Jana

Location: Corona, CA

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: reading, cooking

2012 Race Plans: Not entirely firmed up yet, but include: ChikFilA/100 Mile Club 5k January 21, Hollywood Half April 7 (my birthday!!), Run For Kids 6 hour March 17th, Nanny Goat 12 hour in May, and the AZ Women’s Half in November. More to be added!

What make you a Tough Chik: I kick my own butt! I’m married, and a mom to two busy school age boys. I work part-time and volunteer relentlessly, but I always make time to run. Running has become part of who I am and how I define myself. Plus I have no qualms about wearing flip flops, even though I’m missing toenails.

Blog: I have one, but haven’t posted since August of 2011. Let me work on updating it and I’ll get back to you!

Fun Fact: I was born without a sense of direction. I could get lost trying to find my way out of a paper bag.

Leave a Reply

