Meet Stephanie and our 2 Karens, Team Tough Chik!

27 Jan

Stephanie

Name: Stephanie

Location: Springfield, MA

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: vacationing, blogging, and not working!

2012 Race Plans: My first marathon at Disney in January 2012, & the RnR Half at DC in March are my only planned for 2012 officially. I’m looking into the Rev3 Olympic triathlon at Quassy Park or in Maine this summer!

What make you a Tough Chik: I’m a Tough Chik because no matter what, I tough it out. I love to try new things, and am always looking for ways to improve and get better at my sports. I may not be very fast, but I make up for it with effort!

Blog: http://runtohealth.blogspot.com

Karen

Name: Karen W

Location: Atlanta, GA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

Other Hobbies: Baking, reading, crafty things 🙂

2012 Race Plans: Still formulating a plan…  Beach 2 Battleship Iron Distance, 70.3 Augusta, Shamrock Marathon, Savannah Century and few other tris and road races

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am not afraid to go for it.  I went from a sprint triathlon to a 140.6 in one year.    If I have any reasonable expectation that I can do something, I am always willing to give it a try.

Blog URL: www.runkdubrun.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: Although I don’t have any motorcycles at this time, I have owned 10+ over the years and made quite a few long distance trips by myself on my motorcycles.

Karen

Name: Karen B

Location: Lewisville (Dallas) Texas

Sport of Choice: Running Cycling and at some point—Swimming

Other Hobbies: Shopping, Baking, Traveling and knitting

2012 Race Plans: 1. Bold in the Cold Half Marathon (Grapevine TX) – 1/7/2012

2. Stonebridge Ranch Half Marathon (McKinney Tx) 2/18/2012

3. 2012 Rock and Roll San Diego Half Marathon 6/3/2012

4. El Scorcho 25k (Fort Worth TX) Date TBD (midnight trail run in the Texas heat!)

5. Triathlon – (Beginner Tri) August 2012

6. Much more to come…

What make you a Tough Chik: My first experience racing was when I was a much younger and went to visit my uncle, and he had signed us up for a fun run. I finished the race and I fell in love with running after that and have not stopped since. I have been told by 2 doctors now that I am not able to run anymore due to injuries, and since then I have completed as least 11 races in the last few years including one full marathon and several half marathons. My mantra is “Yes You Can” and I can run!  I have also participated in the MS Bike ride (150 miles) 5 in the last 7 years, but my passion is running.  In 2012 – I will be attempting a triathlon- I am told I will be addicted.

Fun Fact: I have been racing since I was a teenager, and I have introduced my 6-year-old son to running – he ran his first 1 miler in December and is ready for the next one!

One Response to “Meet Stephanie and our 2 Karens, Team Tough Chik!”

  1. Christine January 28, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Welcome Tough Chiks 🙂

Leave a Reply

