A Tough Chik’s Guide to Nuun “Fire & Ice”

26 Jan

FIRE: According to Angela

I was sick last year with chills, no energy, and aches.  My roommate turned into mom for the next few days and took care of me, and one of my favorite things she did to help me get better was make me “Nuun Tea”.   Yep she heated up some water, dropped a few Nuun tabs in the mug and a splash of honey later, I was drinking some awesome electrolytes and feeling much better.  I had never had Nuun hot before, and I loved it.  Now when its cold, or im feeling a little under the weather, you better believe that a new bottle of Nuun for some “Nuun Tea” is first on my store list.  Luckily this past week I already had a few flavors at home, because I havent been feeling well, and Nuunhas definitely come to the rescue!!

Nuun Tea: Strawberry Lemonade Flavor

The best part about “Nuun Tea” is making it.  Be careful on how full your mug is, because once you drop the Nuun in, a fun little explosion occurs in the mug, almost volcano like, so beware, and be prepared with a towel, or break it into bits, and drop a little bit in at a time.   My favorite flavor is Tri Berry, however I only had Strawberry Lemonade at home, its also good, just a bit sweeter.

ICE: According to Danielle

As a “new runner” in 2010, I was really unfamiliar with the gear and products that were available for use.  During training for my first marathon, I bought a fuel belt but only filled it with water and found that on long, hot and humid training runs I was left flat.  I didn’t use sports drinks during runs because I hated the stickiness left on my skin if I splashed, never mind the fact that if I drank too much at a time I’d be left with “sloshy stomach” and begin to feel nauseous. I learned a lot from reading running blogs—techniques to test and products to try.  It was during my training for my second marathon, National Marathon (Washington, D.C.) in 2011, that I was introduced to nuun thanks to Heather at Run Faster Mommy and Tonia at Racing With Babes.  I was nervous to introduce a new hydration method into my training runs so late into my training cycle, but thought that it was better than sticking with straight water since I knew my body was suffering from electrolyte shortage since I was a heavy sweater.  I found that nuun was not only tasty, but did everything that I needed it to do (and NOT do—i.e. no sloshy stomach and no stickiness from spillage).

Danielle with Nuun Ice Cubes!

Nuun became a part of my longer training runs and races—buying up Pink Lemonade like crazy (in addition to other flavors).  When I found out I was pregnant, I continued to use Nuun, but not only during longer runs.  Nuun went from being used only on runs longer than 6-miles to runs that were as short as 2.5-miles.  It was exactly what I needed to keep my properly hydrated during my pregnancy. When I was pregnant, I came down with a horrible stomach bug and couldn’t drink enough to keep me hydrated.  Again, the sports drinks were too much for my stomach, and I needed to remain as hydrated as possible due to my pregnancy.  I thought about what we gave my 2-year old daughter when she had the bug (a children’s electrolyte replacement frozen pop) and how well it had worked for her when she couldn’t keep liquids down.  I then had my husband make some nuun and place it in our ice-cube trays to freeze.  I started to suck on the frozen nuun cubes to help keep me hydrated and it really worked wonders!  My lips, that had been dry and cracked due to dehydration, and my headache from it as well, went away after I finished my first full serving of nuun cubes.  I kept at it and within a half day felt tons better and was hydrated which was the most important thing! I honestly liked my nuun cubes so much that I started to make them more often and use them inside my nuun to keep it extra cold and not water it down.  My daughter also loves to drink my ice-cold nuun when I would come up from a run on the treadmill.  Now that I’ve had the baby and am getting back into training for upcoming races, nuun cubes are now going to remain a part of my nuun usage.

6 Responses to “A Tough Chik’s Guide to Nuun “Fire & Ice””

  1. bearrunner January 26, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    I love Nuun also.. I run with it;

    Cheers

  2. Lt. Awesomesauce January 26, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Love me some Nuun. However, I am deathly afraid to drink it hot. Just seems weird to me.

  3. Haley @ Climb Run Lift Mom January 26, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    What awesome ideas 🙂 I love the idea of nuun tea!

  4. Run with Jess (@RUNwJESS) January 26, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Nuun – hot?! Who knew?! And what a great idea on the ice cubes!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three Things Thursday « My Mumma's Shoes - January 26, 2012

    […] a quick write up about my “nuun-cubes” for a feature on the TC blog!  How awesome is that?!  Head on over to check it out.  While you’re at it, be sure to check out both the Tough Chick and nuun websites, and also like […]

  2. Found–My Love of The Run–Thanks Nuun! | Fit Moms & Full Plates - April 5, 2013

    […] everyone (and have)–I introduced it to a bunch of my running buddies.  My kids drink it.  We make freeze pops out of it when we are sick.  I have a tube on my desk at work for just drinking throughout the day.  It’s a product I […]

Leave a Reply

