Meet Toughies GINA, ERICA & KIM!

19 Jan

Gina

Name: Gina

Location: Seminary, MS

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Traveling, Spending time with family, blogging

2012 Race Plans: I’ll start with my 3rd half marathon in January to warm up for my big race, the Rock and Roll Marathon in New Orleans, which will be my first marathon! I’ll also make a return trip to New Orleans for one of our favorite races, the Crescent City Classic 10k. We also plan to do lots of local 5k races and I’m planning on wearing my race director’s hat again this year to direct my 2nd charity 5k race!

What make you a Tough Chik: I think a lot of things make me a Tough Chik. First of all, I’m a mom of 5 kids (ages 20-2)! I started my running journey on February 8,2010, 6 months after my daughter was born and it wasn’t an easy road. After the first 3 months, I developed shin splints, which turned into a stress fracture. I was devastated but I kept moving. We bought an elliptical machine that I started working out on once the pain was bearable.  After I recovered, I set my sights on training for my first half marathon. Less than a year after I started running (1/30/11), I did it! Three days after my last half in October 2011, I was out for a training run at night when I fell and broke my left arm. I actually attempted to finish my run after I fell but soon realized that this wasn’t just a bump or bruise. I had to have surgery on it and have a metal plate placed in my wrist. Two weeks after my surgery, I ran a 5k race. It probably wasn’t the wisest thing to do but it was a benefit race and I’d said I would be there months before. Since then, I’ve continued my marathon training, at times running with my arm in the air (as if I’m signaling a right turn) to help with swelling. I’ve also lost 68lbs in almost 2 years!  I look forward to getting to know you and working together as teammates!

Blog URL: slowisthenewfast.com

Fun Fact: In ApriI 2011, I was featured on anothermotherrunner.com (Website of the Run Like a Mother book) in their “Follow this Mother!” section, which spotlights running, blogging mamas.  Coincidentally on the same day, I also had the opportunity to meet and run with Born to Run author, Chris McDougall and ultra runner, Scott Jurek.

Erica

Name: Erica

Location: Waldorf, Maryland

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: photography, raising kids

2012 Race Plans: Shamrock Half, VA beach, Charlottesville Half, Warrior dash, Zooma Annapolis, Iron girl Columbia Triathlon

What make you a Tough Chik: I never ever quit……whether I am running or looking for some ones missing sock ,I don’t give in or give up until I am satisfied. I firmly believe “where there is a will, there is a way” It is a good trait to have until you are looking for something that has been thrown in the trash 🙂

Blog URL: www.runmommyrun-Erica.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I am a former competitive gymnast who hated running for soooo long!! It wasn’t until after my second baby that I decided I would take up running, I trained and ran the women’s 4 miler in Charlottesville, and was hooked  🙂

Name: Kim

Location: Richmond, VA

Sport of Choice: Running

2012 Race Plans: monument 10k and Richmond half marathon, maybe the Disney wine and dine…

What make you a Tough Chik: I love challenging my limits and keep on pushing to achieve my goals.

Fun Fact: I love penguins

2 Responses to “Meet Toughies GINA, ERICA & KIM!”

  1. Heather January 19, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    LOVE this!! I am also planning on Wine and Dine – hope to see you there!

  2. Julie January 19, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    (: you accidentally put my blog for Erica

Leave a Reply

