3 more Tough Chiks! Meet Amy, Cassandra and Roberta

15 Jan

AMY

Name: Amy

Location: Sacramento

Sport of Choice: Zumba, Running, Hiking

Other Hobbies: Casual bike rides, Power Shopping

2012 Race Plans: March 11 – Shamrock’n 1/2 Marathon, Sacto

What Makes you a Tough Chik: 2.5 years ago I weighed over 300#.  I thought running was for weirdos.  Now I am running for fun and I love it.  Now I am the weirdo!  Woohoo!

Fun Fact: I collect squished pennies from everywhere.  Send me some from your hometown!!

CASSANDRA

Name: Cassandra

Location: Honolulu, Hi

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Geocaching, Hiking, Yoga, Geocaching and Blogging!

2012 Race Plans: Sharon’s Ride-10K on January 29. Many more to come. I’m moving soon but I’m not sure when. Any suggestions for races in Missouri?

What make you a Tough Chik: I haven’t always been tough. In fact, I can’t keep track of how many times I’ve doubted myself and quit. It wasn’t until very recently that I decided it was time to stop giving up on myself. I wanted to have that “fighting spirit”.  I took up running as a way to get fit and prove to myself that I could do it. I went from being the kind of woman that walked away from a challenge to a Tough Chik that doesn’t back down. I push hard and I don’t make excuses. I’ve become someone I can be proud of and I am thrilled to spend the year with women who have done the same.

Blog URL: runningforthree.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I love to read comic…I mean graphic novels and Geocaching. I’m a bit of a nerd and I don’t care who knows it.

ROBERTA

Name: Roberta (written by her daughter, Cassandra)

Location: Lakeview, OR

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Reading, Hiking and Beaver Games!

2012 Race Plans: Corvallis Half Marathon: April 15 in Corvallis, OR                         Pacific Crest Half Marathon: June 23 in Sunriver, OR

What make you a Tough Chik: Everything about this woman is tough.  She held our family together through every Navy move and every separation. She earned a Masters while working full time and raising three kids. Trust me, we did not make that easy for her. Not too long ago, she decided she was going to be a runner. She worked hard and now she runs half marathons!  Mom, this is my gift to you. I couldn’t imagine a year of being a Tough Chik without you!

Fun Fact: My mom and dad have been married for 30 years and she’s never made him bacon spaghetti.

Leave a Reply

