Meet Toughies – Antonetta, Debbie and Heather

12 Jan

Antonetta

Name: Antonetta

Location: Waynesboro, Virginia

Sport of Choice: Running and Weight Training

Other Hobbies: Cooking and knitting

2012 Race Plans: Park to Park 1/2 Marathon and other local races

What Makes you a Tough Chik: Being a good influence for my girls. They love to exercise because I do and  it’s great to see that. I also never give up and keep trying, no matter how “slow” I may be!

Blog URL: http://www.ihatethetreadmill.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I’m a certified K-12 Physical and Health Education teacher who hopes to return to the classroom when my girls are both in school!

Debbie

Name: Debbie

Location: Liverpool, NY (suburb of Syracuse)

Sport of Choice: Triathlon and Running

Other Hobbies: Crafting (crochet, jewelry making, etc…way too many to list here), photography, downhill skiing, golf

2012 Race Plans: maybe Syracuse 70.3 (my 1st half Ironman), Lake Effect Half Marathon in February (my 1st half marathon), Iron Girl Syracuse, Mountain Goat 10 mile run, Boilermaker 15K, and various other 5Ks and sprint triathlons

What make you a Tough Chik: In my teens and 20s, I never had confidence in myself and I still struggle with it at times.  But it seems like every year I’m trying things I thought were only for elite athletes.  Three summers ago I was in awe of people who ran triathlons…I have done four since.  Two summers ago I thought people who ran the Boilermaker 15K were crazy…I ran it this summer and plan on doing it again in 2012.  I never thought I would run a half marathon…I’m registered for my first in February.   My next hurdle is to get over that 70.3…that will REALLY make me a Tough Chik!  (I stop there though…no full Ironman for me!!!)

Blog URL: http://mommystri-ing.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: I love making crafts that are triathlon/running related.  One of these days I’m going to get my craft room organized enough that I can finally finish all the projects I have started!

Heather

Name: Heather

Location: Irvine, CA

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Hiking, trail running, cooking, yoga

2012 Race Plans: My 2012 schedule so far has 2 FULL marathons, 5 halfs, 2 10K’s, 1 5K, and 1 Ragnar relay!

What make you a Tough Chik: I work full time. I have a husband. I have 3 kids, one with leukemia. I run. I cook. I don’t quit.

Blog URL: http://www.365awesomedays.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I failed PE in high school because I skipped running days in gym!

2 Responses to “Meet Toughies – Antonetta, Debbie and Heather”

  1. kimert79 January 12, 2012 at 6:41 am #

    I am loving meeting all these fabulous ladies! What an awesome team!!

  2. XLMIC January 12, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    Yay, Tough Chiks!

Leave a Reply

