I am sorry, BUT

4 Jan

I am going to start this post apologizing for it.  I am very sorry for what I am about to say.  For those of you who know me or have followed me, you know I am not a mean person.  In fact, I think I am a pretty nice person.  If you know anything about my company, Tough Chik, you know that I am all about inspiring and motivating women, so that what makes this post even more uncharacteristic.

Call me a hater, call me a snob, call me a gymitist (gym-elitist) but the next 2 weeks or so at the gym suck!  I am personally avoiding it like the plague and I am lucky enough to have a flexible schedule and can avoid peak gym hours.

I would like to purpose a 2 month restriction on gym newbies.  Between Jan 1 and Feb 14 if you are new to the gym you are not allowed from 6-9 AM and 5-7 PM.  You are on restriction and if you are still hitting the gym after Valentine’s Day, then you can come any time you wish.  This may sound cruel, but I have been busting my butt all year long and now I have to wait while you figure out how to work the treadmill or find a new bike because  you took my spot in spin class.  I know, I know, we all started somewhere and he didn’t know that I have been sweating in that saddle for the past 12 months.  You take up all the benches in the free weight area where I swear you are staring at your refection in the mirror 10 x longer than actually lifting a weight.

Before I get 100 hate messages, don’t you think that new gym goers may appreciate a time where they don’t feel intimidated by meat-heads and gym rats?  Where they can freely act lost and not worry about spending 15 minutes pressing buttons on the treadmill?

This won’t last forever just 6 small weeks.  If you can prove that you are committed to this lifestyle, then come on!  Bring it.  But for now, I would really love it if I didn’t have to share a lane at the pool with a guy doing the backstroke.  Really, you hit me twice!

 

Again, please do hate me or think I am mean or evil.  I just had to vent…

8 Responses to “I am sorry, BUT”

  1. ImTheMarigold January 4, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Hate on 🙂 I had to mentally prepare to go to the gym last night, knowing it would be full of Resolvers. I ran into my old trainer while I was there and he told me to give it until March and it will be back to normal. My gym is 24 hours, so in theory I could go at what might be a less busy time but going straight from work is the best option for me so I have to deal with the newbies. I want to applaud them for their effort, as I’ve been there before, but I really just roll my eyes, hunker down, and pray for daylight.

  2. Ashley January 4, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I 100% agree with you. I am running biking in the rain to avoid waitingin line for equipment, and I go to a Navy gym, so I could only imagen public gyms.

  3. Michelle Bouchard January 4, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    No joke! I just had the same rant on another blog. lol At our tennis cardio class, if you are not at our skill level AND you are in piss poor health, it just sucks for the rest of us if you come to the higher skill level class. They make everyone else go slower, we have to restart drills and games over and over to make sure they know what they are doing. And sometimes they get run over because they don’t get out of the way in time! I hate January at my tennis. Please newbies–go take a few lessons BEFORE trying cardio tennis. Oh, and maybe run a few laps to make sure you aren’t going to lose a lung.

  4. Lt. Awesomesauce January 4, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I’m kind of worried about this. Tomorrow is my first swim of the new year (only time I use the gym) and I’m kind of thinking it’s going to be crazy in there. Hopefully, no one hits me in the pool. it might get ugly.

  5. grasshopperme January 4, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    AMEN!! I dread this time of year at the gym. I am the first one to encourage anyone to take steps toward getting active and being healthy, but the influx of “resolution rookies” at my club every year makes the experience beneficial for none of us.

  6. Michelle January 4, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    So, I do understand the sentiment, BUT – I’m willing to deal with, and I think you should be too. I saw this post on BT last year, as well as Steve in a Speedo. He re-posted it this year, and I think it’s worth reading. Maybe it will help quell some of the stress anyway 🙂
    http://iwannagetphysical.blogspot.com/2012/01/new-years-resolutionists-crowding-our.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+SteveInASpeedoGross+%28Steve+in+a+Speedo%3F%21+Gross%21%29

    Also, I think it is so awesome you guys have had such an amazing response to Team Tough Chik. If I wasn’t dirt broke, I would have joined in a heartbeat 🙂

  7. Karen January 4, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Interesting idea… I am all for the newbies as long as they know that locker #321 is mine Monday through Friday from 5:20 AM until 7:45, the spin bike on the far left of the 2nd row and the swim lane 2nd from the wall on the right. Don’t invade those spaces that I have occupied for the last 4 years and we will get along just fine 🙂

  8. Michelle January 4, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    I used to feel sort-of this way, silently snickering at the newbie mob, knowing most of them would be gone in a couple months. But then I started thinking about how nice it would be if they all stuck with it. Now I silently cheer them on. I smile, I offer help if someone looks confused. I try to let them know that though my life resolution didn’t start on a new year, it started somewhere and I understand. My gym was uncharacteristically crowded tonight too and while I admit I like it better when it’s not, I hope they all stick with the changes they want to make. Maybe just not in *my* gym 😉

Leave a Reply

