2011 was pretty epic

31 Dec

2011 was a big year for me personally and Tough Chik as a company.

In 2011 Tough Chik –

Expoed at the Carlsbad Marathon, Carlsbad 5000, Sea Otter Classic, Iron Girl Las Vegas, Whiskey Off Road (first event in AZ), TriRock San Diego, Folsom Cyclebration, Long Beach Marathon, SheRox San Diego, Women’s Magazine Half Marathon and El Tour de Tucson!

We started Team Tough Chik, thanks to the help of Angela (who I could have not done this without) and as of right now we have 83 members from 5 countries!

We released our first Tri Kit and it was eloquently reviewed by Jen!

Our “I Run” shirt graced the pages of Runner’s World, with thanks to our very our Fastinista, Tonia and 2 of her daughters!

And for me-

I rode 545 miles from San Francisco to LA in 7 days and raised over $10,000 for AIDS patients with the help of my team!

HALF WAY TO LA

I raced in my first triathlon

MISSION BAY TRI

and my second

SHEROX TRI

AND I got back on my mt. bike!  Which is pretty huge since I have been very skittish since my accident to get on my mt bike.  My husband even built this bike up for me just so I would get out there again.  I ran out of races that I couldn’t be injured for, and so far so good.  No single track yet, but I have high hopes for 2012.

KERMIE'S 1ST RIDE

2012 has potential to be pretty ground breaking!  We are going to have over 80 women racing as Team Tough Chik.  We are invading launching the East Coast market with Tonia as our East Coast Event Manager (or as I call her, Lt. Awesomesauce).  And I have some pretty big product releases up my sleeve!  I couldn’t have done ANY of this without the help of some very amazing people!

1) My husband – He is my rock and my cheerleader.  He keeps a roof over my head, food in my belly and a bike under my bum while I follow my dream of making cute and tough women’s performance apparel.  He is pretty much a rock star and absolutely none of this would exist if it wasn’t for him believing in me.

2) My mom (aka – Tough Old Bird) She has made me the women I am today.  Between her and my grandmother, I wouldn’t be nearly this tough 🙂

3) My Bestie (Molly) – She has given up many weekends to sit in a cold tent and sell t-shirts and cycling jerseys for nothing more than a big cup of coffee and hugs.  When she isn’t working for Tough Chik, she is watching my baby (Cosmo – he is a dog, I didn’t name a child Cosmo).  She is also a great cheerleader and a never ending supply of encouragement.  I LOVE YOU!!

4) Angela – Team Tough Chik Co-Captain and my right hand gal.  As you will see over the next year, Angela is one big ball of excitement and spunk!  She is the epitome of a go-getter and a great gal.  We are going to have a blast together and I am so happy you sent me that email!

5) Tonia – Speaking of go-getters…Tonia, My East Coast Toughie is bringing the Tough Love to the East Coast.  She is going to rock it in 2012 and I am so happy to have her on board!

6) Jen – I think Jen at Miles, Muscles & Mommyhood single handedly doubled my FB followers in 2011!  Plus I have a huge group on Toughies in Maine and I can only attribute that to Jen!  She also helped me through my triathlon training with some pretty silly questions.  I know that Rev3 has her muscles for the 2012 season, but Tough Chik has her heart!

7) Toughies everywhere – Thank you for making 2011 epic and here is to 2012!  I am so luck to be surrounded by an amazing group of women from all over the world.  YOU are what TOUGH looks like.

XOXOXO,

Shannon

the original Tough Chik

7 Responses to “2011 was pretty epic”

  1. Lt. Awesomesauce December 31, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    You are right. 2011 was epic, but 2012 is going to be even more awesomesauce. I am so happy to be a part of the Tough Chik family and I can’t wait to see what the next year has in store!

  2. Missy December 31, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    This is awesome!
    I can’t wait to see what the new year has in store for you!

  3. Cassandra January 2, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    Sounds like your year was pretty epic. Congrats on such an awesome year and here’s to 2012 being equally epic!

  4. Patrick Mahoney January 3, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Good luck this year. You know I’m down for the cause even though nothing fits…

  5. Patrick Mahoney January 3, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    my boyish figure….

  6. milesmusclesmom January 3, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    Let’s make a Tough Chik tat so I can still race with the chiks on me!! xo
    Wishing you and all the TOUGHIES of the world all the best in 2012 and beyond!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tough Chik 2012 year in review! « Tough Chik - January 4, 2013

    […] 2011 was epic, then 2012 was out of […]

Leave a Reply

