Meet Team Tough Chik Members – Carmen and Rene’

28 Dec

CARMEN

Name: Carmen

Location: Galesburg, IL

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Anything fitness or music related

2012 Race Plans: nothing set in stone yet.  Definitely at least 1 1/2 & a full marathon, also an ultra.  Several 5k’s sprinkled in there.

What Makes you a Tough Chik: have given birth & lay claim to 6 children ranging in age from 16 – 4.  I am busy!  But I always have time to run!  I have run 36 miles in 8 hours and constantly want to improve on that number.

Blog URL: sherunseverywhere95.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: I have never followed a training plan, yet I have run a half & full marathon & a few ultras.

Rene'

Name: Rene’

Location: New Hampshire

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Reading, Taking care of 4 kiddos

2012 Race Plans: Half at the Hamptons 2/19, Great Bay Half Marathon 4/7, Providence Rock N Roll Half Marathon 8/19 and some fun 5K’s and 10K’s in my area.  Also eyeing my first sprint tri, but I am really nervous to get on my bike YIKES!!!

What make you a Tough Chik: This is a tough question for me because I don’t even know if I am a tough chik.  I am a stay at home mom of 4 kids and a few years ago I definitely hit that feeling of “what am I doing here? and what do I want to do?”  I needed something for myself that did not constantly involve my husband and my kids.  I decided to really start running and trained for the Worcester Half Marathon.  Along the way I found myself, found a great group of ladies that I now run with (my running besties) and reconnected with other friends because my neediness was gone.  I finally had found my way.

Blog URL: theamherstshuffle.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: I used to be an adolescent health nurse and my patients thought that I was very cool.  (I was super young).  The other day I reminded my 11 year old daughter of that fact to which she replied….”Mom that was a long time ago:)”

Leave a Reply

