The great arm warmer debate

27 Dec

A few nights ago I posted this photo on the Tough Chik FB page and asked…

Arm warmers with a sleeveless shirt, cute or goofy?  I got an overwhelming positive response.  Most of you thought it was cute.

A little background, I am a cyclist first.  Sure, I run and compete in triathlons (and LOVE it) but if you give me a few free hours, I am going to pick my road bike every single time.  To be fair, I have been riding a lot longer than I have been running or swimming and I am a much stronger cyclist than runner or swimmer.

Most roadies (slang for road cyclist if my granny is reading) wear short sleeve jerseys.  In fact, I have read rules for bike races stating that your jersey must have sleeves.  Most roadies also have chicken wings for arms, so it is probably for the best.  Arm warmers have been worn by cyclist forever and it seem lately that runner and triathletes are adopting them as well.  For a cyclist, when you wear them, you are wearing them with a short sleeve jersey.

So, your shoulder is covered.  I never really considered wearing arm warmers with anything but a short sleeve cycling jersey.  And I love arm warmers, they are the cyclist version of knee socks.  I have them in many colors and was über excited when I final got my Tough Chik arm warmers produced.  I decided to go with the gray check to match the pocket of the Tough Chik cycling jersey and pink check which would match the pink TC jersey AND the running tank.

The other night I put on my running singlet and decided to see how the arm warmers would look with it.  It is one of those looks that see on other people and think it is cute and fun, BUT you aren’t quite sure if YOU can pull it off.

So, I turned to my husband (first mistake) and asked if he thought it was cute or goofy.  He is very honest.  He looked at me and said, “won’t your shoulders be cold, that doesn’t make sense.”  I made him take a photo and I asked you and you guys loved it, for the most part.

A big thank you to all of you who responded!  I now feel confident wearing arm warmers with short sleeves and no sleeves.  Next I am going to try the grey check arm warmer with the tri top!

Do you wear arm warmers?  Do you wear them with a sleeveless top?

Do you get the cold shoulder?

3 Responses to “The great arm warmer debate”

  1. XLMIC December 27, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    I just recently discovered the awesomeness of arm warmers. But I make my own out of $2 knee socks from Target 😛 And I always prefer to run in a tank. Even in frosty weather. Cold shoulders don’t bother me at all 🙂

  2. Tonia December 27, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Ha! They are the cyclist version of knee socks. Best line ever.

  3. Missy December 27, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    I love arm warmers! I wear them with a sleeved, sleeveless and racer back tanks. They take the chill off and if you get warm they roll right down. Go go gadget sleeves.
    Besides that look who else wears them.

    Kara makes it cool. 😉

Leave a Reply

