I surrender

13 Dec

After 3 cough laden sleepless nights, I waved the white flag and went to the doctor yesterday.  I just couldn’t take it any longer.  I don’t hate going to the doctor, but I was really hoping that I could kick this on my own.  But after this nasty cough hijacked my weekend, I was ready to surrender.

I have bronchitis.  Yuck!  The doctor actually gasped when she looked into my mouth, not a great reaction.  She said that the roof of my mouth was raw and covered in soars from all the coughing.  But on the bright side, I do not have pneumonia or tonsillitis!  Yea me!  She gave me a course of antibiotics and some cough syrup and told me to get some rest, if I don’t feel better in a week to come back.  A. WEEK.

I have only been on one short bike ride in over a week and it looks like it will be several more days before I can get moving again.  It is not that I want to work out, I really don’t feel like doing much of anything really.  But I keep thinking about how hard it is going to be to get back to the point I was before I got sick.  2 weeks of no activity is like 2 years in gym world!  But I can’t take a deep breathe right now and I am exhausted walking up a flight of stairs, so I am on IR (injured reserve for you non-sports folks).  Me and Peyton Manning, it is like we are the same.  Spinal cord fusion and bronchitis, yeah they are on par with each other.

So go for a run, ride, swim, or what-ever-you-do for me!  I will be on my couch participating in my own kind of marathon, the criminal minds marathon.   Have a great week and stay healthy!

P.s. free shipping on toughchik.com with the code ToughChikTuesday!

One Response to “I surrender”

  1. Missy December 13, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    Sorry you are so sick. I hope you kick some bronchitis butt and kick back out there soon.

Leave a Reply

