the worst kind of cold

7 Dec

I have been sick since Sunday and it is not letting up.  It has a hold on me and my life and will not let go!  It is the worst kind of cold…for me.

It is what I have titled the “walking cold”, it is when you aren’t sick enough to be in bed all day, but don’t have enough energy to work out, run, ride, etc.  The sane part of me tells me to stay in bed and rest and the less sane part is very guilty that I am not keeping up with my training schedule.  I am well enough to work during the day, hungry enough to eat my normal amount but at the end of the day my body is exhausted and I am wiped walking my dog around the block let alone running 6 miles.

I am pretty lucky that I don’t get full-blown sick that often, in fact the last time I was really sick was at the start of ALC (7 day, 565 mile bike ride).  I have awesome timing.  But I work from home, I am not around little kids, so I am not around a lot of the big germ factors.  I do have a husband who travels a lot and is a carrier, most of the time I escape unscathed…this time I am not so lucky.

We have a weekend in Palm Springs planned with 2 awesome bike rides, one on Friday and one on Saturday.  I will be very disappointed if I am not well enough to ride this weekend and the hubby is still sick as well.

How do you deal with training schedules and illness?  Do you train when you don’t feel 100%?  Does the guilt get you down?

5 Responses to “the worst kind of cold”

  1. Tara McKee December 7, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Should one keep on training while sick? It depends on a lot of factors: fever and muscular aches definitely mean it’s time to take a break. I’ve heard you can do some damage to your heart (which is a muscle too) by continued exertion while sick with a fevered, achy body. I’ve heard one rule of thumb is to assess whether the cold is merely affecting you from the neck up (a head cold). If so, you can probably still get in some kind of workout w/o a problem. If the cold is settling into your bronchial tubes or lungs, take a break and get well or you may risk getting worse.

  2. Muddy Socks December 7, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    The guilt is definetly there…but I usually rest. Feeling under the weather totally kills any type of motivation or drive to get out and do ANYTHING. I had the exact same thing a few weeks back. Kept feeling like I was right on the verge of getting full blown SICK…totally exhausted. I just rode it out and took the rest. I think my body was happy with that. Feel better !

  3. Missy December 7, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    I try to lay low for a few days when I’m sick and hope it goes away fast but when it lingers I usually head out the door for my sanity but keep it easy.
    Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Steve December 7, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    For medicinal purposes you need to drink a lot of red wine.

  5. Steve December 7, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Drink more red wine

Leave a Reply

