The Versatile Blogger

2 Dec

Earlier this week I was tagged by Michelle at Average Girl Doing Average Things (and trust me, she is extraordinary and does some pretty awesome things) with the Versatile Blogger thingy.  I am still new to blogging so please bare with me.  But I do know that I get to share with you 7 fun facts about me and I love these kind of questionnaires.  I was always the first one to respond when they use to go out by e-mail, AND was always named “who will be the first to respond”.  I don’t know why I get a kick out these things, maybe I enjoy surprising folks with random info about me and my past.  So here we go!

1) My first job out of college was for a heavy manufacturing company, where I designed marketing collateral.  I know more about drill rigs than the average gal.  I own a hard hat and steel-toed boots.  It is also where I met my husband.

2) I am a vegetarian from Texas (we do exist), although I live with my “people” now in California.  I have never liked red meat and can say that I have never ordered a steak at a restaurant.  Until about 6 years ago, I would eat yard bird (chicken), fish and ground turkey but after watching a documentary on meat processing, I was out for good and I haven’t looked back.

3) When I was little I convinced my little brother that if he acted like a dog, we would get a real one.  My mom played along for the first day but by the second day when he still wanted to eat off the floor, she got worried and made him stop.  He hates that story, I love it.  We didn’t get a dog until 10 years later.

4) Speaking of dogs, Cosmo is the love of my life and my husband knows it.  He is my child and I take him everywhere I can.  He is small enough to fly under the seat and has more air miles than most adults.  I also have 2 kitties that I adore, but Cosmo holds a special place in my heart!  He is a rescue and was labeled Level 3 aggressive (the highest level) thus he was without human contact for over a month.  Since we didn’t have small children, we were allowed to adopt him.  He was badly abused and still leery of strangers and terrified of brooms, crutches or anything with a stick.  It is really sad.  Now he is the biggest lap dog and I spoil him.

me and Cosmo

 

 

5) I am an award-winning packaging designer.  I won 2nd and 3rd place for Patron Tequila’s holiday packaging.  I have also designed packaging for Remy Martin Cognac, Hypnotiq, Wild Turkey, Macallen Scotch.  I have also designed drinkware for Rainforest Cafe and Joe’s Crab Shack.  I would much, much rather design cycling jerseys, tri tops and t-shirts!

 

6) I didn’t learn to ride a bike until my 20’s when I met my husband.  He bought me a Trek hard tail and thought he we would be able to got for little cruises around the neighborhood.  Never in a million years did either one of us think that 9 years later we would be riding 545 miles in 7 days.

Marc and I - AIDS LifeCycle 2011

7) How do you know if someone is from Texas?  They will tell you!  HA!  It is one of my favorite sayings and as you can see, I have already squeezed it in to this post without planning on it.  (see #2)  I was born and raised in Houston and then went to college in College Station, TX at Texas A & M University (whoop!)!  After graduating I moved to Dallas (see #1) and then over 7 years ago (and 6 months after getting married) my husband was transferred to LA. We lived 2 blocks from the ocean in Redondo Beach until a year and half ago when we moved to the ‘burbs of South Orange County and more specifically Mission Viejo.  I enjoy the plentiful bike lanes (when people aren’t trying to kill me), a nice back yard, tons of parking and the other perks of the suburbs.

BONUS 8) I LOVE FOOTBALL! College and NFL!  My teams are obviously Texas A&M (see #7), University of Florida (hubby went to school), Houston Texans and Pittsburgh Steelers (where hubby is from and where we got married)!

I am going to tag some of the Team Tough Chik members with blogs!  You should follow these amazing ladies!  I apologize if you have already done the Versatile Blogger!

Sarah at Sweet and Savory by Sarah

Erin at See Mom Run Far

Mandy at Caratunk Girl

Tonia at Racing with Babes

Jess at Run with Jess

Ashley at Girl on the Run

Michelle at Carpenter’s Corner

Amanda at Miss Zippy

Amanda at Too Tall Fritz

Gina at Slow is the New Fast

Karien at Running the Race

Rebecca at 50 half marathons in 50 states

2 Responses to “The Versatile Blogger”

  1. Erin December 4, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    What a fun post! I loved learning more about you. and thanks for the tag! 🙂

  2. Patrick Mahoney December 5, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Love that you went from heavy construction into hard liquor. Nice.

Leave a Reply

