Aside

Meet Team Tough Chik!

28 Nov

Each week we are going to introduce you to couple of the ladies of Team Tough Chik!

This week we want to introduce you to Joan and Amanda!

Joan

Name: Joan

Location: Salisbury, MD

Sport of Choice: Running and Cycling

Other Hobbies: Volunteering, Traveling, Healthy Cooking, Teaching Spin Classes

2012 Race Plans: Baltimore Half Marathon, Century Ride out West, Seagull Century Ride, possibly my third year running in the New York City Marathon.

What makes you a Tough Chik: One of the most challenging, yet positive experiences of my life……..which was beating last stage cancer at the age of 26.  I feel that 99% of the battle was fought with spirit and mind and I was determined to stay positive no matter what. Through the support of so many and the internal fight, my cancer made me realize on a much deeper level what I was “made of.” Every since I have been in remission, my husband and I have been very involved in Team in Training. I do a lot of public speaking as well about my battle with cancer.  I feel that I am a stronger athlete now, than pre-cancer and I am still and will always “dig deeper” to get stronger & better as an athlete. I truly love life and am known by every one that knows me as the “Life is Good” girl.

Fun Fact: I have my own vocabulary!…lol….my loved ones call many of my goofy phrases “Joanisms,” but the thing is , is that they understand what I am trying to say!…..lol…

Amanda

Name: Amanda

Location: Monee, IL

Sport of Choice: Running and Triathlon

Other Hobbies: Playing with the kiddos & dogs, boating, swimming, hiking

2012 Race Plans: Where to start?  Lots of local 5k races, Shamrock Shuffle 8K, Southwest Half Marathon, Pokagon State Park Triathlon, Sunburst Half Marathon, Rock N Roll Chicago Half Marathon, Fort 4 Fitness Half Marathon,  and I will pick a few more TRIs, and probably a  marathon, I did Chicago the last several years.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I don’t think of myself as “tough” but I am determined and sometimes that means that others view me as “tough”.  I really believe that accomplishing a goal is more about making the decision to do it and then following thru to make it happen.  I have a “tough” schedule and could have lots of excuses but I try to be flexible to get in what needs to happen  at the appropriate time.  That may mean a 3:30 am wake up call but I am willing to lose a little sleep to make sure that I have done as much as possible to reach a specific goal.  I encourage all women to be flexible and realistic, recognize limitations due to family and finances but NOT to let fear limit what they can accomplish.

Blog URL: www.tootallfritz.com

Fun Fact: I hiked the Grand Canyon from Rim to Rim with a group of ladies in 2005

 

It is NOT too late to join!  Team Tough Chik is still open for new members, click here to join now.

3 Responses to “Meet Team Tough Chik!”

  1. Mandy November 29, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Awesome!! This is so great!! Two super inspiring women!!

  2. Haley @ Climb Run Lift Mom November 29, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Great to “meet” you ladies! I feel priviledged to be on a team with you both 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BAMR…. | TooTallFritz - August 9, 2012

    […] to give up, go home, sit on the couch and nurse a six pack beer.  On the Team Tough Chik Intro HERE, they […]

Leave a Reply

