Open letter to people who are trying to kill me.

21 Nov

Dear people who are trying to kill me and more specifically the lady in the Pathfinder on Margurite in Mission Viejo, CA on Sunday around noon:

Why are you trying to kill me?  To prove a point? Just because you are driving a car or SUV and I am riding a bike does not give you any more right to be on the road than I.

If you were paying attention, you would have noticed that the bike lane was blocked by cars attending a swim meet at the YMCA pool.  I couldn’t ride in the bike lane, so I was forced to ride in the car lane (in which there were two for this direction of traffic).  Trust me, I would have rather have been riding in the bike lane, but that was not an option for me at the time.  And according to law, I, as a cyclist, have the same rights as cars and should have been treated as such.  By you “buzzing me” (driving about 2 in away from me) did you think you were going to teach me a lesson?  Tell me that I did not belong on your precious street?  Would that have been worth killing me?  I am not being dramatic, 2 more inches and you would have killed me.  Killed me right in front of my husband.  Would that have been worth it?

I am a good person and a cautious cyclist.  I pay my taxes and ride with a helmet, always.  I always stop a stop signs and I donate my time and money to charity.  I am a daughter, wife, friend, sister and a small business owner.  I am not a hateful, selfish person.  I am just a girl who wants to ride her bike and live to blog about it.

Was I slowing you down?  Were you in a rush?  Would that 5 seconds it took to move around me change your life?  Because by you hitting me a 50 mph would probably turned my life upside down.

The next time you see a cyclist in your lane, I hope you take a second and think twice about your actions.  Is it really worth it?

Please share the road,

Shannon

3 Responses to “Open letter to people who are trying to kill me.”

  1. Mandy November 22, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    UGH be safe out there. People are crazy! I am glad you are OK

  2. jen November 22, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Stay safe out there! I am glad that you are alive and OK and that you were ‘afforded’ that precious extra 2inches.

    As a runner I find the same lack of courtesy. I’ll often be crossing at an intersection or with the light and still some drivers seem to want to ‘teach you a lesson.’

  3. Sandy November 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    How terrible! What a witch!!

Leave a Reply

