Blow it up!

28 Oct

Today I almost blew up the house, literally.  To fully understand the story, I need to start at the beginning.

We have a 2 car garage, with 1 car, washer & dryer, a bunch o’ bikes (and bike accessories/tools) and Tough Chik stuff.  I was working on some Tough Chik stuff and I pulled out a fold up table and set it up in my hubby’s beloved bike shop.  Last weekend he was working on a bike (to give him credit for a friend of mine as a favor) and folded my table and threw it in front of the washer and dryer.  Ok, so maybe he didn’t throw it…maybe haphazardly placed it. And didn’t put it back in its home in between the water heater and washer.

So yesterday when I went to do his laundry (and some of mine…more dramatic to say it was his…you get it…) and the table was in my way.  I threw the full basket of clothes down (read forcefully placed with a huge gasp) and picked up the table.  I delicately placed the table in it’s carefully crafted home (read moved some other crap around) mumbling my hubby’s name and some choice words under my breath.

Cut to this morning, I was in the kitchen and my hubby comes in from the garage.

Hubby: DON’T TURN ANYTHING ON!!!

Me: (turning off microwave) Why?

Hubby: WE HAVE A NATURAL GAS LEAK!!! (he returns to the garage and I follow him)

he is now disrupting my perfectly crafted teepee of crap including the table and pulling it all out of the corner.

Hubby: DID YOU JUST SHOVE THE TABLE IN HERE?

Me: (meekly) yeah?

Hubby: Do you see this valve? (he is calming at this point) This yellow valve right here? (turning the valve off)

Me: yeah.

Hubby: When you put the table back you opened the valve, you could have blown the whole house up!

Me: Oops.  (I was thinking that I could say, “well if you would have put the table back in its home, none of this would have happened.”  But it really wasn’t the time)

Hubby:  Good thing you didn’t start the car!

Me: Can I use the microwave? (as he is leaving for work)

Hubby: Yeah, you should be ok.

I am still alive, crisis averted.  Craptastic!  Happy Friday Toughies!

3 Responses to “Blow it up!”

  1. Tonia October 28, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Holy crap, Shannon! So glad you are alright.

  2. stacey October 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Your definately a “tough Chik” by not saying “well if you put it back….” I so would have let that one fly out of my mouth! Glad everything turned out ok! lol

  3. Andrea Wilson (@BGTriChick) October 31, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    Wow glad you are OK! I had a house drama, although not life threatening, post last week too. Looking forward to following you!

Leave a Reply

