SheROX – San Diego

18 Oct

On Sunday I competed in SheROX San Diego, a sprint tri and my second and final triathlon of the season.  Can a season be 2 events?  I think so, I had a season 🙂

This time Tough Chik was exhibiting at the expo so we worked the tent all day Saturday.  I was concerned that all the standing was going to negatively affect my performance, plus we had a very busy day and met a lot of new Tough Chiks and visited with some friends we met over the years.  But I am NOT complaining, it was great!  This was the first event Tough Chik exhibited at, so I think of it as our birthday (2 years!) and this race holds a very special place in my heart.

I don’t have any photos from the event and not because I forgot the camera, oh I brought the camera and not because the battery wasn’t it charged.  The battery was fully charged, sitting in the charger in the wall at home!  UGH!

This race had 2 distances, sprint and super-sprint, the super-sprint was approximately half of the sprint distance.  I opted for the sprint distance which included a 750m swim, 20K bike and 5K run.  The sprint distance included 2 laps in the bike course and 2 laps in the run and if you follow my blog, you know I have trouble with laps in the pas (see here) so this was going to prove that I can do 2 laps! Ha ha (I can laugh about it now).

The swim – 750m

Before we started the swim, they had a boat show us the course and let me tell you, I was freaking.  It looked so very far!  Earlier last week, I swam 17 laps in a row (which is over 750m) so I knew I could do it.  Molly was with me before the race and it was so great to have her with me.  I wasn’t quite as nervous as I was the first time, but still a little uneasy.  The swim course in my last and first tri was straight point A to point B with just one turn at the end to get to the boat ramp.  This one had a lot more twists and turns which meant we weren’t as spread out and there was more kicking and hitting.  This really slowed me down because every time someone hit me or bumped me, I stopped swimming.  The first time I was bonked on the head, it really shook me up and it took me a minute to get my bearings straight.  I knew I was out there for a long time.  I was in wave 7 with the yellow swim caps, soon I was surrounded by all different colors and I had no idea if these ladies were in the waves in front of me or behind me.  I assumed that they were after me, but I didn’t panic and just kept on swimming.  Once again, my watch was not working (seriously Santa…A GARMIN PLEASE!) so I had no idea my time.

Swim exit

I saw Marc and Molly when I exited the water and it was so great to see their smiles!

Swim time: 19:26 AG: 36/81

T1 – Easy peasy, this time I drank more water during transition and that really helped! 1:41

The Bike – 20K

Bike/Run Map

The bike was so much fun!  I loved it!  It was flat and fast and SO AWESOME!  I really didn’t want to get off my bike.  In my head I was trying to figure out if I could negotiate a few more laps around Fiesta Island in exchange for the run.  We all had to do 2 laps around the island, which made it hard to assess where you are in the race.  “Is she on lap 1 or 2?”  As you can see from the photo, we were pretty socked in with fog but it didn’t affect visibility.

I heart riding my bike!

Bike time: 38:40 AG: 10/81 (hellz ya!)

T2 – Nothing to report, I had a few honey stingers and more water…good addition to my transitions. 1:50

The Run: 5K

I knew the first mile was going to stink and it did.  At the end of lap one I saw my friend Maria and it gave me an extra pep in my step!  I had a few ladies that I wanted to keep up with and I think that kept me going.  The run was definitely a place where I felt I could improve last race, although I didn’t have any time to really do anything about it.  Once I crossed the finish line, I had guessed that my time was about 1:42.  This was a wild stab in the dark and I had used previous times to guess when I finished.  I really didn’t think I could get under 1:30 (since my previous time was 1:19 and that was 250m less in the swim and 5K less in the bike).

That is one happy Tough Chik

When I crossed the finish line, I was happy.  I had had a blast!  I didn’t think I had a great time, but I didn’t care.  I went over to the results table and was shocked, my run time was 25:27 (AG 18/81)!  I. DO. NOT. RUN. THAT. FAST!  Or do I?  I really thought it might be a mistake.  I ended up 29th out of 81 in my age group.  If that sounds familiar, it is because I finished 29th at Mission Bay 2 weeks ago!  Crazy!  Overall I was 167/582 with a time of 1:27:02.  If I can shave off a few minutes off my swim time, I would be very happy.  After this performance I have decided that in 2012 I am going to enter a time trial race on the bike.  I think I might be able to race bikes with some success!

I finally got my bling!

Leave a Reply

