momma’s girl

17 Aug

I know that most of you out there are mothers, and some of you are daughters (ah, who are me kidding…you are all daughters. What guy is reading a blog titled momma’s girl).  You may have a daughter that is a little *clingy*, she is actually glued to your side right now.  You never worry about her wondering off at the grocery store and as she gets older, she will refuse to got to *her* department while you look at your clothes.  Yep, that was me.

I cried profusely when my mom dropped me off at college.  You would have thought she was selling me into a sex slavery ring in Indonesia, not dropping me off at University a hour and fifteen minutes away from home.  It was terrible and still to this day one of the worse days of my life.  My move to California, away from my mom (she is in North Texas), was hard.  I cried every time I left her.  (I am a crier…I am OK with that)

I call my mom every time I feel down or blue, she always knows how to perk me up.  She use to be first on my list, but now that is my husband’s legal responsibility so she has gotten a break over the past few years.  I miss her hugs.  I often call her and ask for a momma hug, and I will get one tomorrow!  She is coming to spend 5 glorious days with me and I a very excited.

She is going to witness one of my crazy lake swim/transition training sessions on Friday.  My mom knows nothing about triathlons, so this will be a treat and probably a good laugh. (pics to come, now that I have someone to take them)

Do you parents *get* what you do, may that be cycling, running, tris?

 

One Response to “momma’s girl”

  1. michelle August 18, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    When I first started this stuff, my mom was like “Who are you and what did you do with my daughter?” But she has now been to two of my races and is SO supportive. She asks about my swimtimes, makes sure I have a buddy when I swim in the lake, compliments my runs and has become a great cheerleader. I’m in Ohio and my Mom is still in texas. I miss her every day!

Leave a Reply

