knock knock bike camp

10 Aug

Bike Camp – Last week I volunteered at bike camp where I helped 2 boys with special needs learn to ride a bike without training wheels.  I volunteered for 2 75 minute sessions which I knew would be physically challenging.  You have to run/walk behind them on the bike for the 75 minutes.  What I wasn’t prepared for is how mentally exhausting it would be.  I don’t have kids and I haven’t spent a lot any time with children with special needs.  I have a whole new-found respect for the parents, care takers and educators of children with special needs.  You should be making as much as a rock star!  I was truly a rewarding experience but I must admit that my patience was tested.  Both of my kids were autistic (I believe) and at very different functioning levels.  The boy in my first session (which I will creatively name Boy 1) was very sweet.  By the second day he was holding my hand and giving me hugs.  His mom informed me that he had the comprehension of a 2 or 3 yr old.  I am not sure how only Boy 1 was, but he had facial hair.  His speech was very limited.  He would stop pedaling, thus you constantly had to remind him to pedal and pedal fast enough to move the bike and not fall over.  I said “keep pedaling” so much that I told my dog to “keep pedaling” on walk because he was sniffing!  Boy 2 (I should call him Boy B just to throw you off) was 10 and knew exactly what was going on.  The issue with us was, there was so much going on that he had a very difficult time concentrating on the task at hand.  He was all over the place, literally.  And as you may know, you steer where you look on a bike so we had a challenge focusing on cycling.  But the week ended on a happy note with both boys riding 2 wheel bikes outside.  My mom asked if I would do it again, and I would, but only one session.  I think I was a little worn out by session 2 and by the end of the week you are chasing these kids on bikes and you are on foot!  It was good speed training!

My husband brought this home from work yesterday.  He is a Marketing Director for this brand of rum (Sailor Jerry – go buy it now…I want a new bike…) and I have to admit they have some fun promotional items.  I have several Sailor Jerry t-shirts (because that is all I need, more t-shirts) that I love and wear, but only if every Tough Chik T-shirt (go buy one now…I want a new bike…) is dirty!  But this lamp is a little much.  Don’t get me wrong, I am no Martha Stewart or even Nate Burkus when it comes to decorating, but I do have standards.  I have let my husband keep more of his crap around this place that most wives would. (I live with creepy African Tribal Masks and Fossils, like dead animal teeth and stuff ewe)  I am drawing the line, putting my foot down, standing my ground.  So we have a little “Christmas Story” leg-lamp-type-feud.  Unfortunately she is molded plastic and will not break.   They don’t make them like they use to!  I am thinking that she may become my own Beyonce Chicken (Click here if you have no idea what I am talking about and get ready to laugh your you-know-what off)  Knock Knock?

Leave a Reply

