prolotherapy

26 Jul

Today I had my first injection into my knee.  Ever since my 545 mile bike ride back in June, I have been experiencing knee pain.  I started physical therapy over a month ago and after a painful 25 mile bike ride on Saturday, I had had enough.  My physical therapist had mention Prolotherapy several times and I had brushed it off, happy with my progress.  It seems like I started going backwards with my recover and the pain is coming earlier into the ride and with less load on the knee.

To my understanding, Prolotherapy is a series of injections to the soft tissue (ligaments and tendons) to the area that is experiencing chronic pain.  My injections consisted of lidocaine (a numbing agent) and a sucrose solution.  The lidocaine numbs the area and the sugar solution creates inflammation.  The inflammation tells the body that the area is still injured and helps the body to heal itself.

The doctor evaluated my knee and pinpointed the area of pain.  He then took a large syringe and inserted the solution into the inside of my knee.  You could see the bubble of solution under the skin.  The hamstring stretch where you kick your leg back and draw your foot to you bottom, this stretch always causes me pain.  So after the injection, the doctor had me do the stretch to see if there was pain.  There was no pain which meant the lidocaine was in the right location, hence the sugar solution was in the correct location as well.

This isn't me (I shave better) but it is exactly what it looked like

I have been instructed to take a couple of days off and gradually resume normally activities.  The doctor said I should start feeling a difference in a week or so.  I really hope this helps.  I might have to go back for a second round of injections in 4 to 6 weeks.  Obviously it is too early to tell if it will help me, but I will keep you updated!

If you are interested in learning more about Prolotherapy, the web site www,prolotherapy.org has a lot of good information.

One Response to “prolotherapy”

  1. Sandy July 27, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    The hairy leg scared me at first, them I read the caption and burst out in laughter!! Hope the injection helps!!

Leave a Reply

