I moved…are you there? AND a new adventure

1 Jul

Hey guys!  I switched over to Word Press and I wanted to make sure my loyal following (hee hee) have moved with me.  So, hello are you out there?  Please drop me a comment and let me know if you are still around, I would GREATLY appreciate it.

A big THANK YOU to Mandy @ Caratunk Girl for helping me with the switch!  I am so thankful for your help.

Can you believe it is already July?  I feel like the summer is slipping through my fingers!  I had so many things professional I wanted to accomplish before Summer and here we are July 1.  Most of my goals have not been met but due to circumstances out of my control, which is even more frustrating!  I am working on a big new product release for Tough Chik and I was hoping of have it available by now.  I hope I can get it out soon or else it will be cold again!  UGH!

As some of you know, I have a marathon under my belt and a 545 mile bike ride, numerous centuries and 10ks but I have yet to attempt a triathlon.  I started swimming late last year, literally learn how to swim from square one.  This week I signed up for my first tri!  The Mission Bay Triathlon in San Diego on October 2nd will be my triathlon debut!  It met all of my criteria.

Mission Bay Triathlon

1) Couldn’t be on a weekend where I was expoing at an event with Tough Chik (which was actually kinda tough)

2) Bay/lake swim…I am NOT ready for OWS!

3) Local or at a place with friends/family so I could crash for free

4) Sprint distance, baby steeps here.

5) Preferably at the end of the season, so I had enough time to properly train.

The swim is 500m, bike is 15K and run is 5K.  I laughed at the bike distance but I am hoping I can make it through the swim.  I just want to do a sprint so I know what it is like to swim with a bunch of other people and transition in a competitive environment.  I would love it if you could do a choose you own adventure type of triathlon (do you remember those books?).  I would do a 500m swim, 50 mile bike ride and 10K run and the swim would be in very long pool with a cute little line that I could follow in nice clean water!  Is that too much to ask?

My awesome Trainer Ali is super excited but she is a bit disappointed that I didn’t just jump in with Olympic, she is pretty confident that I am ready.  I feel that this will work out nicely for me and I can set myself up for success.   It is going to be my tri test drive.  The water is 67 degrees and wet suits are recommended, so I think that is on my to do list.  Should I go sleeved or no sleeve.  I am thinking sleeves because I am always cold and I hate cold water, but I am concerned with mobility.  Thoughts?

3 Responses to “I moved…are you there? AND a new adventure”

  1. Lisa July 1, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I hear you on the OWS. My brother assures me that it’s not “that” bad but I’m still nervous myself. If you find a long pool with a cute little line, let me know! 🙂

  2. Haley @ Climb Run Lift Mom July 1, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I’m here! Was the change over pretty easy? It seems alot of bloggers are heading towards Word Press these days.

  3. Sandy McClintic July 2, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    I like this very much! MOM 🙂

Leave a Reply

