Week 2 recap

17 Dec

HIM TX Training

Week 2 Recap

Swim: 2300 yds (1000 yds, 1300 yds)

Run: 5.5 miles

Cycle: 38 miles

Strength Training: 1 hour 55 min (2 lower body and 2 core sessions)

6 workouts scheduled – 6 completed

Week 2 and I am back on track.  My stomach was a little off for the begging of the week, so I let my diet go.  Eating a lot of empty carbs (crackers, bread) because that was the only thing that sounded good.  I went 3 days without a vegetable.  Terrible.  But now I am back to eating better and I am trying to be better about recording my food intake.

Swim – The swim sessions are short with a lot of reps on 50 yds.  I was swimming more yardage at a time (400, 500 yds) without stopping and I am kind of getting use to these shorter sets.  Maybe too comfortable, but I trust the plan and I will continue to follow the plan.

Run – Only one run session this week and that is fine with me.  It has been cold and rainy so my only run was spent on the treadmill and it was slow and steady.  The new twist was to lift for an hour after running 5.5 miles.  Typically I run an hour or so and I am done!  But is wasn’t bad (besides how sweaty I was…don’t worry I wipe the bench down!) and after the session, my legs were toast.  Maybe that was the point.

Cycle – I had 2 cycling sessions, one indoor and one outside.  The indoor session (which I don’t do often) was boring and the single leg drills were difficult.  On Saturday I rode outside for the first time in almost 2 weeks (again, very rare for me) and despite the wind and cold, it was great.  So wonderful to ride outside.  I decided that I can never live in a climate were I can not ride outside year round.  I am spoiled!

Strength Training – Still not a favorite, but I tolerate it.

My body is in a constant state of soreness, which isn’t that new but I am curious about how my body will feel at week 14 or 15 if I am already “feeling it”!

Overall a great week!  I was able to “X” off all my workouts, which makes me feel accomplished and happy.   On to week 3!

One Response to “Week 2 recap”

  1. jnkmiles.org December 17, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Great work!! Not a fan of the single leg drills either!! I had an hour of them last week at 1 point and griped the entire time!! They make me feel so inept!! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,006 other followers

