Welcome Toughies Heather, Toni and Helen!

14 Dec
Helen

Helen

Name: Helen

Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Vancouver Sun Run 10km – April,

Tough Mudder Vancouver – June,

Apple Triathlon Sprint, Kelowna – August

and at least a 1/2 marathon probably in the fall

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’ve just done my first full Marathon. I am still in awe at the dedication and commitment training for 26 miles takes. I loved the race, the training not so much. But I DID love calling a 10 miler my ‘short’ run!!

My mantra on those long marathon training runs this year, and something that I believe sums me up well is this wonderful quote;

You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think

I often question my inner strength. But when I look back at my sporting accomplishments I know I’m tougher then I think….climbing when I’m scared of heights, being a British record holder in formation skydiving, training for a marathon when anything over 18 miles makes me want to break down and cry, dirt-biking up crazy hill climbs just because my husband led the way, and making a comeback to my childhood sport of fencing as a grown adult (and then representing my county team!)

If you had a super power, what would it be? Invisibility

Fun Fact: I took a career break and spent 4.5 years traveling around North and Central America in an RV. Along the way I fell in love with the Okanagan Valley in BC, Canada and decided to emigrate (from England). I’ve now been living in my adoptive country 3.5 years.

Blog URL: www.helen-mills.blogspot.com

 

heather-poloroid

Name: Heather

Location: Westminster, CO

Sport of Choice: running!! Obstacle course races are my favorites!

2013 Race Plans: I plan on running my very first half marathon, and if I can muster up a team, the 2013 Spartan Sprint.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m obsessed with my goals. I made a new year’s resolution to run a minimum of a mile a day, every day in 2012. So far, still going strong, although I’ve run with the flu, a migraine, and minor injuries. While I realize it was a somewhat foolhardy goal, I’ve been amazed to learn just how much more your body can actually put forth even when its trying to convince you otherwise!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I’d love to be able to fly!

Fun Fact: I’d never run prior to 2011!! Now I’m mildly obsessed.

Toni

Toni

Name: Toni

Location: Rice Lake Wisconsin

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Blommington Mn Ladyspeed Stick Half Marathon

Ragnar Florida Keys

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,006 other followers

