Week 0 Recap

4 Dec

HIM TX Training

Week 0 Recap

Swim: a whooping 700 yds

Run: 7 miles and 1000 yds of drills

Cycle: 23 miles

Strength Training: 65 minutes (1 upper body and 2 core sessions)

If you read my previous post on Week 0 you will know that I got a jump start on training last week and will have 2 weeks of “Week 1″, so last week was “Week 0″.

Confession: I was suppose to swim 200 yrds twice and instead I swam once and did 700 yds.  I know, big whoop, but here is the confession.  I am crazy.  There was another guy at the pool while I was swimming and I didn’t want him to think that 700 yds was all I could swim (like he was even paying attention) so I started to stretch and grab at my back like I was hurting.  My convincing performance was to make stranger-at-the-pool-who-I-will-never-see-again think I was injured or recovering from an injury.  Can you believe that?  I am nuts!

Running Drills:  I have done drills at boot camp, but that was ages ago.  So, Marc and I went to the track and ran drills.  We did walk on toes, walk on heals, butt kickers, high knees, karaoke, skipping and run backwards.  It was hilarious.  100 yds of walking on your heals or toes is a lot harder than it sounds.  We both have a little soreness in the calves today.  That is fun about a plan is that it makes you do things you normally wouldn’t!

Cycle:  I was suppose to ride for 40 minutes, but my shortest loop is 1.5 hr ride.  It was terrible.  I can ride this loop in my sleep and it was like riding in wet sand.  My legs were so cooked and I have no idea why.  I had the lightest week, but I think there was a few factors resulting in my craptastic ride. A) I was lazy and just felt my tires and the felt like they had enough air, maybe not B) I cut back my calories this week C) I did eat that much before the ride and D) it was windy.  In other words, it was not me :)

Strength Training:  I did it!  I went to the gym and picked up the weights and put them down and picked them up again!!!  I also did a 4 x 1min planks, twice.  This is huge for me, I have lifting.

4 Responses to “Week 0 Recap”

  1. Laura M December 4, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Reading this makes me want to buy a plane ticket to TX, and train and race with you!!
    P.S. I’m still bummed I missed the chance to run drills with you!

  2. jnkmiles.org December 4, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    You make me laugh!! You’re doing great!

  3. Patrick Mahoney December 5, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    The swimming this is amazing. Pure genius. I would have done something similar but probably would have overcompensated by saying something lamer than my actual swimming.

    • toughchik December 6, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Glad to hear I am in good company!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

