Training and traveling

16 Oct

Training and traveling.  It can be done, I know I can do it.  Heck, I have done it.  But it is hard and this past weekend was an epic training FAIL.

I was in Pittsburgh celebrating my 9 year wedding anniversary and a quick visit with the In-laws last weekend.  I had plans on fall-inspired runs and pool time at the local Y.  I knew that the diet would take a hit, but I felt that if I kept up with the exercise, I would be okay for my Sprint Tri this weekend.

Day 1 (Friday) – We landed at 1AM and didn’t get to bed until 2:30, so we slept in.  And as soon as we woke, we wanted to get over to the in-laws for a visit.  And then I wanted to visit the flower conservatory that we were married at, exactly 9 years earlier.  After a day of running around, we had dinner plans with friends and pretty soon it was midnight. Runs – 0 Swim – 0

The exact spot that we married 9 years earlier!

Day 2 (Saturday) – I set my alarm and woke up for a run.  I had running tights (not lined) and a long sleeve running top.  I get outside and there is frost on the ground.  Now this So Cal gal doesn’t know cold weather running and I wasn’t prepared.  I balled my hands up into my sleeve and grunted out 3 chilly miles.  I was more proud that I got out of bed than I was of the run itself.  On Saturday night my Alma Mater was playing and I am not use to this East coast viewing schedule.  Again I was up until 1 AM watching football!  I don’t know how you guys do it! Runs – 1 Swim – 0

Day 3 (Sunday) – On Sunday I had made plans to meet fellow Toughie Becca at a bakery for brunch.  So between having to get up to meet her and the late night the night before, I didn’t get up to get in a morning run.  I figured that I could go for a nice evening trail run later that day.  Yeah, you guessed it.  That didn’t happen.  Now that we are slipping into shorter days, there just wasn’t enough daylight to get it done.  And then my Texans were playing Sunday night football, so I was up late watching the first 3 quarters until I was thoroughly disgusted and went to bed. Runs – 0 Swim – 0

Becca and I

Day 4 (Monday) – Our flight wasn’t until 2 PM, so I could have very easily set an alarm and get in a quick run.  But I think 3 days fueled with all things Pumpkin (think pumpkin pie, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin beer) left me feeling sluggish and I finally rolled out of bed close to 10. Runs – 0 Swim – 0

And that is how you epically fail at training while traveling.  After 4 days away from home I feel bloated, my skin is broken out and my energy is down the tubes.  It is amazing how a change in diet, sleep and activity can affect the way you feel in such a short period of time.

My spin – I have a ton of stored energy for this race and my body is rested.  This will be the first event that I have done twice (I started racing tris late last year) so I am really interested to see if I can improve my times.  I really hope that I haven’t shot myself in the foot.  I guess we will see!

12 DAYS LEFT TO JOIN TEAM TOUGH CHIK!

JOIN NOW!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,005 other followers

