Hurt so good

29 Aug

Yesterday I got a massage, not a relaxing-stress-relief-massage, but a jam-your-elbow-in-my-back-massage.  After a long climb on the bike on Saturday and ramping up my swimming, my back was hurting.  Plus my on going knee issues, I knew I needed professional help.

I was lucky enough to get a gift certificate to Massage Envy for my b-day from my MIL.  So I called and made an appointment with a therapist, who I was assured was trained in deep-tissue and sport massage.  I knew I had the right gal when she asked if it was okay to work on my glutes.  Heck yeah!  The largest muscle group needs some working too, it always surprise me how few therapist work the glutes.  I guess not all guests are comfortable with a therapist jabbing your butt with their wrist, but I am down.  I went in for lower back pain and found out I was in a lot more pain in my neck and shoulders and my hips are jacked.

She didn’t even make it to my arms or the front of my body, because my back, neck and hips were so tight.  I left with orders to come back neck week and start stretching more.  I admit that I don’t stretch nearly enough.  She informed me that if I continued to train at this level with my muscles this tight, injury is inevitable.

I left there with a follow up appointment, a membership to Massage Envy (a 12 month commitment) and buyers remorse.  I know that a monthly massage will be helpful, but it seems alike a luxury that I could do without.  Although I CAN’T afford an injury, so I guess I can justify it.  Let’s just hope I can justify to the hubs. Eek!

When I left the massage, the therapist said that she didn’t go that deep and I shouldn’t be too sore and shouldn’t bruise.  I left sore and I woke up in out right pain. My shoulders are killing me and I feel like someone kicked me in the back!  I have a swim scheduled and was thinking of canceling, but maybe it will loosen me up??

Have you even left a massage in more pain than when you arrived?  Did you go back?

5 Responses to “Hurt so good”

  1. Heidi August 29, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    I have multiple times left in more pain than i came in with or woke up in more pain but within a few days it was better. I know they recommend that you drink a lot of water afterwards to try to help as well. I think its wonderful that you got a year long membership and I think you will be happy you did! :-) It just means you need more massage if you hurt that much…you need to take care of your body. I am not a therapist, but that’s my 2cents. Thanks for posting!

  2. goldielocks August 29, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    I have been a member for a few years and it is awesome!!!!!! you did the right thing to take care of your body:)

  3. Christine September 3, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I’m a member at Massage envy and some month I don’t go,but the nice thing is, it rolls over, so during marathon training, I go every other week (always the day after my long run). It really helps me to stay injury free. After my 1st marathon I ended up with hip bursitis on both sides of my hips. Then I started getting massages and I run 2 marathons without any issues! The important thing is to ask for a massage therapist who does sports massage. You pay the same but you get a better therapist.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hurts So Good « ron clinical massage therapist - August 31, 2012

    [...] Hurt so good (toughchik.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. 6 Reasons you should have a Sports Massage « Run for 2012 - September 2, 2012

    [...] Hurt so good (toughchik.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

