Start you week off with inspration from Becky and Tonya!

9 Jul

Becky

Name: Becky

Location: Appleton, WI

Sport of Choice: Hockey, Skiing, Volleyball, Cycling

Hobbies: Bridge

2012 Race Plans: ??? I broke my index finger playing hockey this Spring. I’m hopeful that following surgery and therapy, I will be racing by the end of the summer.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I don’t like to quit.

Fun Fact: My favorite food is asparagus.

 

Tonya

Name: Tonya

Location: Akron, OH

Sport of Choice: Cycling & running

Hobbies: Swimming, hiking, camping, traveling, knitting, reading, & spending time with my family.

2012 Race Plans:

Mar. 17:  Run for Rosa 5K
Mar. 18: Cleveland State Indoor Tri
Apr. 21:  Run to the Beach Half Marathon
May 20:  Cleveland Marathon (My first!)
May 28:  Tallmadge Memorial 5K
July 4:    Hilton Head Firecracker 5K
Aug. 4:   Mad Anthony River Rally Ride Aug 12:  Perfect 10 Miler
Aug. 25:  Warrior Dash Ohio II
Sept. 11: Hancock Horizontal Hundred
Sept. 15: Girls Tri Too – Portage Lakes
Sept. 22: Women’s Half Marathon –Nashville
Sept. 29: Akron RoadRunner Marathon (Half)
Oct. 7: Red, White and Blue 26.2 (Half)

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started running using C25K (couch to 5K) in February of 2010 and in April, I registered for my first half marathon. (Not because I loved running. I actually hated it. I just wanted to see if I could do it.) Less than 12 hours after registering, I rolled my ankle. I was on crutches for 2 weeks but the x-rays were clear. I ran two painful 5Ks before an MRI finally showed that I had a fractured talus bone and massive bone bruising. I spent 3 months in a boot followed by 6 weeks of PT. I started training in late September and finished my first half marathon on November 21, 2010!
I felt defeated for 6 months and wasn’t even sure I would be cleared to race but I worked hard and never gave up!

Blog: http://tee2run.blogspot.com

Fun fact: I love to explore. I studied Coral Reef Ecology in Bermuda, got engaged on a mountain in the medieval walled city of Barga, Italy (where my great-grandparents were from), and got married on the island of St. Lucia.  I have been known to find a cool destination race and plan my family vacation around it.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

