Happy Monday! Meet Sheri, Theresa and Maria!

11 Jun

Sheri

Name: Sheri

Location: Fawnskin, California

Sport of Choice: Running, Cycling

Hobbies: Tennis, Hiking, Yoga, Pilates

2012 Race Plans: KOM, Rock n Roll Half, Mojave Narrows Trail Run,

What makes you a Tough Chik: Not allowing my weaknesses to define who I am.  I see them as challenges. I strive to overcome them and make them my strengths

Fun Fact: I am a total Math geek and will be starting my Masters in Mathematics this fall.

 

Theresa

Name: Theresa

Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Sport of Choice: Road Cycling but 2012 first Tri

Hobbies: Hiking, camping, adventures

2012 Race Plans: Feb 5 – Surf City 1/2 Marathon, Feb 25 first tri – Los Alamitos Race on the Base, May 20 – Encinitas Sprint Tri, September – Amtrak Century, October Newport Beach Tri, October – Long Beach 1/2 marathon,

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’ve been a road cyclist my whole adult life.  I was a competitive swimmer in high school, but never ran. 2008 year was a major challenge, I lost my brother due to liver cancer, lost my step dad, went through major changes at a 12 year job and had major surgery.  I had been active most of my life, but this year with recovery from surgery felt like I would never feel normal again.  I began working out with a morning fitness boot camp and began to consistently ride again.  I began running in my early 50’s because of work travel and not being able to ride.  In 2011 I did four 1/2 marathons and decided to swim for cross training.   Although I’m considered old to start triathlons, the time in my life can’t be more perfect, with children that don’t need me on a daily basis a time to train.  I love to ride so much that I started a women’s riding group for new riders in their 40’s 50’s and 60’s.  As I mentor these tough chicks, it keeps me training.

Blog: www.chicksthatride.blogspot.com

Fun Fact: I’ve been married to a wonderful man for 31 years.  One of our first dates was a bicycle ride.

 

Maria

Name: Maria

Location: Chesapeake VA

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Reading, Going to the beach with the kids, mini road-trips

2012 Race Plans: Running almost every month in a “formal” race – going to do

What make you a Tough Chik: As a mom of 4, I feel like my time is limited for just some “me” time.  I started running April 2011 to keep losing weight (lost 30 lbs last year), and to get in better shape.  I run 3x a week, and try to find events that my kids can also participate in.  We do one of those a month at least.

Blog: mariadoeslife.tumblr.com

Fun Fact: I am the 42nd grandchild on my father’s side

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,006 other followers

