Good Monday Morning! Get your weekly inspiration from April, Christy and Ellen

14 May

April

Name: April

Location: Portola Hills, CA

Sport of Choice: Running, a sprint tri here & there

Hobbies: Being with family, quilting, reading, watching TV

2012 Race Plans: Disneyland Tinkerbell Half Marathon, LA Chinatown 5K, OC Marathon, Long Beach Half Marathon.  Thinking about doing the Tinsel Tri again this year.

What makes you a Tough Chik: Am I a Tough Chik?  I never really thought about it.  I want to set a good example for my children so I never give up, I persevere, and I try to have a good time no matter how hard, tedious or unbearable it is.  I’m kind of like the little blue engine….”I think I can, I think I can….I knew I could, I knew I could….”  :-)

Fun Fact: I ran the Inaugural Disneyland Half Marathon just a mere 5 1/2 weeks after giving birth to my daughter.  I think that alone earned me the title “Tough Chik”.  I never realized how difficult it would be recovering from all the comes with giving birth and training 2 days coming home from the hospital.  The great part?  I managed to beat half my co-workers crossing the finish line.  :-)

 

Christy

Name: Christy

Location: Huntley, MT

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Hiking, horseback riding, reading

2012 Race Plans: Hood to Coast!  Two half marathons, an adventure race and numerous 5 mile, 10k and 5k races.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I run outside in all weather conditions and train alone.  So if the training does not get done   I only have myself to blame.  I run in mud, gravel, cow trails, and have two lucky miles of pavement if the roads are too muddy.

Blog: http://christyruns.com

Fun Fact: I am a redheaded lefty.

 

Ellen

Name: Ellen

Location: Georgia

Sport of Choice: Running, Cycling

Hobbies: Greyhound rescue, cooking, reading, movies.

2012 Race Plans: None right now due to an injury.

What make you a Tough Chik: What makes me a tough chik is that I stick up for myself and others. I take others telling me that I cant do something as motivation to succeed. I still am hoping to compete to some degree despite injury and not let it keep me from my passion for sports and competition!

Fun Fact: My husband got me into bike racing and he is a big part in why I ended up racing professionally. He is so encouraging and supportive!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,006 other followers

