doubts

11 May

Tomorrow I am racing ITU (which I keep saying UTI) World Triathlon San Diego.  I am racing the sprint distance as preparation for the OC Tri Olympic Distance next Sunday, which is my big race of the Spring. (which if you google OC Tri, which I just did, my blog is the 4th entry…so obviously I have been taking about it a smidgen)

Between the DB at the pool, my terrible performance at Sea Otter, the fact I have been traveling non-stop for a month and my 3 lb gain….I am NOT FEELING CONFIDENT.  I mentioned this on the Team Tough Chik FB page (what…you don’t know about the Team Tough Chik page?  Well I guess you are not on the team so if you want to be in the know, sign up here – yes, blatant plug)

ITU World Triathlon San Diego, which serves as the second and final automatic qualifier for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Triathlon Team, is a pretty big deal and they allow little ole age groupers like me race the same course (Olympic distance) or an abbreviated distance (sprint distance).  Just being surrounded by that talent also has me a little humbled (read scared shitless).

The thing is, I am not a Honey Badger, I am more of an Opossum.  I mean don’t get me wrong, I am a Tough Chik and I will get in yo face and show you What Tough Looks Like, but inside I am a little possum.

So on Saturday I am going to put on my game (TOUGH) face and rock it out.  I am going to show those Elite racers (who I am sure will be watching the age groupers race…yeah right) what TOUGH looks like.  Who knows, maybe I will surprise myself.  All 3 extra pounds of me :)

6 Responses to “doubts”

  1. Trinity May 11, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    You’ll rock the shit out of it! Go, Tough Chik!

  2. tmbrunnerfirst May 11, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Cast those doubts aside! You are going to do awesome. Also, I think it is UTI every time I read it …

  3. Theresa Nelson May 11, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    you know they can give you antibiotics for that….oh wait you mean a race. Even possums do what they have to for surviving. You’ll be stealth and surprise them out of no where. You are still miles ahead of all the people that didn’t even sign up for the race. Go get ‘em!

  4. fullhousefullhandsfullhearts May 11, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    GOOD LUCK!!!! You are tougher than you know. Have fun and kick butt. :)

  5. andrea stanley May 11, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Wow!! You are awesome! Can’t wait to here how it goes. You are going to do great. My first sprint tri is in 23 days and I am more than scared for sure.

  6. jnkmiles.org May 11, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I bet you have little Honey badger in there….Good Luck…. now go kick some bootty!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

