I *might* be in over my head…

22 Feb

Come mid-April mt. bikers and cycling enthusiasts from all over will congregate at the Laguna Seca race track for the 22nd annual Sea Otter Classic in Monterey, CA.  For those of you who don’t know about Sea Otter or SOC, I have plagiarized some info from their web site.

Professional and amateur athletes make the annual pilgrimage to participate in cycling’s best competitive events in various mountain and road bike disciplines.  Hundreds of pro cyclists, including national and world champions, come to Sea Otter to race, sign autographs, and share their racing techniques with fans.

Recreational rides are another feature of this cycling extravaganza, including Sea Otter’s Gran Fondo routes, which are fully supported and meant to be enjoyed with family and friends.

The Sea Otter Classic also hosts the largest consumer bike exposition in North America.  The Expo holds hundreds of vendors who display new products and offer samples and bargains.

The Sea Otter Village, hub of this four-day action-packed festival, includes a food court and beer and barbecue garden, and pulses with free, fun activities—including bike demos, stunt shows, and special events just for children.

The Sea Otter Classic is located in Monterey County, one of the most popular tourist destinations in the United States.  Sea Otter is renowned as the bicycle world’s premiere festival and one of the world’s largest.

As you might be aware of, I have this lil ole club with over 170 ladies and a few happen to live in CA and mt. bike.  So, of course we have a group of women racing this year on behalf of Team Tough Chik.  If you have been following my blog for awhile, you know that I am not the most skilled mt biker. (Exhibit A, Exhibit B and Exhibit C)  In fact I am much more comfortable with idiots whizzing past me going 70 mph on the road.  So these great women, Angela, Jessica B., Chrystal, Michelle and Tracy A.(if she heals, fingers crossed) are all racing cross country mt biking.  So, I was like “There is no way I am racing XC, so I will race road” and I signed up.  Amateur move.  See if I had half a brain, I would have looked at the course first.

I have participated in SOC for the past 2 years as a vendor at the expo and it really is a fun event.  It is such a fun atmosphere that each year I say, “next year I will race”.  And I KNOW how hilly it is around the race track, but it never dawned on me that THAT is what I will be racing until I watched this…

You can hear how powerful the wind is right away and if you fast forward to about 2 min into the video you will see how steep the climb is.  It would be tolerable if you had to do it once, but the course is 4 laps (some have to do it 7 times!)  Feeling completely overwhelmed, I showed my hubby the video and said “uh-oh, i don’t know if I can do this”, thinking his response would be “Of course you can!”  Instead I got, “you don’t have to race, just go this year and watch…”

Huh?  Ok now, don’t tell me I can’t do it because I will do everything in my power to prove you wrong.  I don’t know if that was his plan or if he was just tired of listening to me waiver on the issue.  Either way, I am going to do it.  I might come in last, not exactly good PR for the team, but I will finish.  And I am not beneath faking an injury or flat tire to justify a poor time.  After my sprint reverse tri on Saturday, my climbing training will begin.  I have a plan in my head and I think I have a pretty steep hill in mind that I can do hill repeats on a few times a week.

Oh boy, what have I done???

5 Responses to “I *might* be in over my head…”

  1. Haley @ Climb Run Lift Mom February 22, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Shannon – You got this!!! It’s going to be tough, but hell… You’re a tough chik! I can’t wait to hear about how awesome it is :)

  2. Laura M February 22, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Oh girl — you’ve got this!!
    Funny thing…before I finished reading this post I was thinking hill repeats on La Barca…have fun with that!!
    Oh, and good luck with the reverse tri! :)

  3. Tina G February 22, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Ha Shannon, you got this! You ARE a TOUGH CHIK after all! I say, BRING IT! Good luck & let us know how it goes! Good luck with the tri as well :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Training ADD « Tough Chik - March 7, 2012

    [...] I want to be great at everything and well, sometimes that is just not possible.  I have a pretty big race coming up and I should be 100% focused on road cycling.  I have told myself that I need to spend [...]

  2. little fish « Tough Chik - April 11, 2012

    [...] a top 10% bike time.  Then again, I am competing with triathletes, not cyclists.  In two weeks I will jump in head first to a huge pond, more like a lake, you know the big kind with waves (like a Great Lake).  I am racing in THE mt. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

