Tough is the new BLACK!

2 Aug

First off, WHAT MAKE YOU A TOUGH CHIK?  Have you heard about this yet?  Tough Chik has teamed up with Girl Bike Love and we are creating an awesome t-shirt based on your responses.  Go HERE and let us know what makes you a Tough Chik!  Some of my favorite responses so far have been…

Tough is the new black.

Face fear without a tear!

Coloring outside of the lines.

The tough keep going!

SOOOO, WHAT MAKES YOU A TOUGH CHIK?

 

I must admit, I don’t feel so tough right now.  On Thursday after PT, I decided to take the bike for a little spin on the trainer.  He suggested 20 – 30 minutes with nothing on the wheel (easy spin – little resistance), so Pinky and I kicked it in doors.

Right off the bat I was feeling some soreness in the knee, but that is typical.  At about the 18 min mark, the pain was back so I sucked it up to make it an even 20 and finished my ride in disappointment.  I was hoping after the injection that I would be good to go, which does happen in some cases, just not mine.

Friday morning Trainer Ali, Molly and myself were to meet at the pool at 8 AM.  I am not a morning person and prefer to work out in the evening, but this worked best for Molly and Ali’s schedule so I sucked it up.  After about 20 minutes of waiting, Molly and texted Ali and I guess there was a time mix up, so no swim.  Another work out bites the dust.

After my 2 FAILS, I decided that I was going to take the rest of the weekend off and rest.  Not do a thing!  And you know what happened?  A huge sense of relief flooded over me.  No more worrying about what I was going to be able to do and if it was going to burn enough calories.  I was injured and my body need the rest.  Guess what?  I didn’t die or gain 35 lbs!

Now on to something new, today I started my week-long volunteer work with Bike Camp, Loose the Training Wheels.  This bike camp is geared to children with special needs that prevent them from riding a conventional 2 wheeled bike.  Today was day 1 and I signed up to work two 75 minute sessions.  Each session I was paired with a charming young boy and together over the course of one week we are going to get him riding a real bike without training wheels.  Some of these kids never thought they would get this chance and I am excited to be apart of it.

Training Bike - Bike Camp

Today I spent both sessions walking or running behind them, guiding them and helping them stop.  Today we rode a bike like the one on the right, a roller bike.  The rear wheel is replace with a roller for stability.  As the child grows accustom to the roller, the staff with switch the rollers out to one that is more of a diamond shape (tapers up at the ends) so the child is riding on less and less of the roller and  working on balance.  By Thursday they will have switched over to a standard bike with either a hand break or a coaster break.

I should be an awesome and inspiring week although I don’t think I am going to need to work cardio into my work out schedule for the week.  I got a couple of speed demons!

2 Responses to “Tough is the new BLACK!”

  1. michelle August 2, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    The knee pain does not sound like fun at all – I hope you get relief soon!!!

    As for the bike camp – that is just fantastic. I look forward to hearing the stories about the kiddos!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. knock knock bike camp « Tough Chik - August 10, 2011

    […] Camp – Last week I volunteered at bike camp where I helped 2 boys with special needs learn to ride a bike without training wheels.  I […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

